The Civil War in Jefferson County: Homes in 1860

This map shows the locations in 1860 of homes in Jefferson County, WV (in the eastern Panhandle), outside its small towns of Harpers Ferry, Bolivar, Charles Town, and Shepherdstown. Structures, in most cases, still remain as of 2011, according to a survey by the Jefferson County Historic Landmarks Commission.

Where an entry includes a surname followed by “1852,” “1862,” “1864,” or “1883,” these are the owners named for those properties on maps of those dates of publication.
Differing facts and spellings are presented unchanged.

The list is generally a series of continuous “tours” around the County, with the exception of about five structures that are listed but by themselves.

WARNING: If driving the county to see these locations, do not enter on to any private lane off a public road without express permission from the current property owner or resident. It is important to respect the privacy of all citizens.

SOURCES:

Jefferson  County Historic Landmarks Commission. “Buildings Survey.

Brown, S. Howell. (1852). “Map of Jefferson County, Virginia from actual survey with the farm limits.” United States. The Library of Congress: American Memory. “Maps Collection.” 27  Oct. 2009  Web. 10 Sept. 2010.

Brown, S. Howell. (1862). “Map of Jefferson County, VA. / photographed for the Bureau of Topographical Engineers Oct. 1862.” United States. The Library of Congress: American Memory. “Maps Collection.” 27 Oct. 2009 Web 10 Sept. 2010.

Brown, S. Howell. (1883). “Map of Jefferson County, West Virginia from actual survey with the farm limits.” Philadelphia, PA: J. L. Smith. Print.

Brown, S. Howell. (1883). “Map of Jefferson County, West Virginia from actual survey with the farm limits.” United States. The Library of Congress: American Memory. “Maps Collection.” 27 Oct. 2009 Web. 10 Sept. 2010.

GoogleMap 1 – “Rau House”

GoogleMap 2 – “Mt. Hammond”

GoogleMap 3 – “Millville Mills”

STRUCTURES & SITES:

  1. Rau House
    beginning at Route 340 and CR 28 Bakerton Road, continue north on Bakerton Road, on the left/west side of CR 28 Bakerton Road after the first left turn, is Rau House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Daniel Moler 1852, Daniel Moler 1862 – opposite Rau House on the east side of CR 28  Bakerton Road is:
  2. Merritt/Daniel Moler House
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1880. – from Rau House, continue north on CR 28 Bakerton Rod, turn left/west on to Elk Run Drive, bearing right on a ninety-degree turn, then left in another ninety-degree turn, on the right hand/north side is:
  3. Strider House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1790  – Samuel Strider 1852, Samuel Strider 1862 – reverse-route back to CR 28 Bakerton Road, turn left/north, continue, on the left/west side on Elk Branch, north side is:
  4. Strider Grist Mill
    Type: Mill Material: site Date: c. 1800 – Samuel Strider 1852, Samuel Strider 1862 – continue on CR 28 Bakerton Road, thru the underpass under the B&O RR, to the right/south, on the south side of Elk Branch, and off the river is:
  5. Cave – Wharf – Furnace
    John Brown Cave
    Type: Cave Material: site Date:1859 – John Peacher 1852, John Peacher 1862 – north of the cave and closer to the river nearby are: 

    Warf Warehouses
    Type: Warehouses Material: site Date: c. 1850 – John Peacher 1852, John Peacher 1862 – due north of the warehouses on the north side of Elk Branch is:

    Keep Tryst Furnace
    Type: Iron Furnace Material: site Date: c. 1770 – John Peacher 1852, John Peacher 1862
    – reverse-route, continue on CR 28 Bakerton Road, make the next turn left/west on to CR 29 Engle Switch Road, past three lanes on the right/north and four lanes on the left/south side, CR 29 Engle Switch bends to the left/south; on the outside of that bend and close to Elk Branch is:

  6. Little Elk Mill
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1840
    Phillip Engle 1852, Phillip Engle 1862 – reverse-route on to CR 28 Bakerton Road, turn left/north, just before next left turn – CR 28/2 Best Road intersection on the left – along the river, is:
  7. “County Warf”
    Type: Wharf Material: stone Date: c. 1850 – Lucas & Moore Warehouse 1852, Lucas & Moore Warehouse 1862 – continue north on CR 28 Bakerton Road, past Best Road on the left/west side, past three additional lanes on the left/west side of CR 28 Bakerton Road, next left/west turn is:
  8. Miller-Harwood House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame/log Date: c. 1840 – Henry Miller 1852, Henry Miller 1862 – continue north on CR 28 Bakerton Road, past Carter Ave. (a left/west turn); turn right/east on the next right turn before Marilyn Street, to the left/north side is:
  9. Ore Banks
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:1838 – Robert Gilmer 1852, Robert Gilmer 1862 – reverse-route back to CR 28 Bakerton Road, turn right/north; after Marilyn Street on the right/east, before Morning Calm Lane on the left/west side, there is:
  10. George W. Moler House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1834 – George Washington Moler 1852, George Washington Moler 1862 – continue north on CR 28 Bakerton Road, past Morning Calm on the left/west side, and two additional turns to the left/west, over a stream, bearing right at a fork in the road with Broken Rock Road to the left, continuing on CR 28 Bakerton Road, to, off the road to the west:
  11. “John Flanagan House”
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – William Flanagan 1852, William Flanagan 1862 – continue north on CR 28 Bakerton Road, turn next right/east on to a lane that turns sharply southward and parallel to Bakerton Road and the river immediately to its east and closer to the river, go south to the end to:
  12. Flanagan’s Quarry
    Type: Quarry Material: site Date: c. 1840 – William Flanagan 1852, William Flanagan 1862 – reverse-route back to CR 28 Bakerton Road, turn right/north, go short distance from entry back on to Bakerton Road along the river at a gravel driveway with a red mail box turn soft right/east turn:
  13. Knotts Mill
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1810 – Samuel Knott 1852, Samuel Knott 1862
    – reverse-route on gravel driveway back to CR 28; turn right/north, continue on CR 28 Bakerton Road, on the right/northeast side on the hillside is:
  14. Forrest Grange
    Type: Mill Building Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – continue on CR 28 Bakerton Road, on left/south side just passed CR 28/1 Duncan Road turn off to the right/north, is:
  15. George Knott House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – William McMurran 1852, William McMurran 1862 – continue short distance on right/north side off the road – to:
  16. Moler Cave
    Type: Cave Material: site Date: c. 1852 – Daniel Moler 1852, Daniel Moler 1862 –
    reverse-route, continue south on CR 28 Bakerton Road, turn right/west on to CR 30 Carter Avenue in Bakerton, continue west on Carter Ave., turn right/north on the first turn on the right-hand/north side – Peace Ridge Road; Peace Ridge Road bends left/west; on the left side, off the road is:
  17. Raleigh Moler House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1833 – Raleigh Moler 1852, Raleigh Moler 1862 – reverse-route back to Carter Avenue, turn right/west on to CR 30 Carter Ave.; continue through the village, at T-intersection with Timber Lane/Carter Ave., turn right/north on to CR 30 Carter Ave., follow ninety-degree bend to the left/west, continue, follow ninety-degree bend in the road left/south, follow soon another ninety-degree bend to the west/right, inside that bend on the right/north is:
  18. Molers School & Zion Church
    Type: House Material: stone Date: 1835 – William Engle 1862 – at the T-intersection just ahead, facing on the opposite side on the west side of CR 31 Engle Moler Road is: 

    18a. Zion Church (Bakerton)
    Type: Church Material: stone Date: 1837 – turn right/north on to CR 31 Engle Moler Road – short distance on the right-east side is:

  19. Billy Engle House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – William Engle 1862 – continue on CR 31 Engle Moler Road, to T-intersection, turn right/east to a dead end to:
  20. Isaac Clymer House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1835 – Isaac Climer 1862 –
    reverse-route, follow CR 31 Engle Moler Road around ninety-degree bend heading north, to the left/west side after making the turn is:
  21. Forrest Hall
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – D. B. Nichols 1852, D. B. Nichols 1862 – continue to left/west turn on to Uvilla Road,
    go moderate distance, turn left/east into subdivision and bear to the left on Acorn Circle to its easternmost potion to see the house to the east of:
  22. Valentine Dust House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c.1830 – Valentine Dust 1862, Valentine Dust 1852 – reverse-route from Acorn Circle, Uvilla Road, to CR 31 Engle Moler; to the right/east side on  CR 31 Engle Moler Road just north Uvilla Road is:
  23. William Morrison House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – William Morrison 1852, William Morrison 1862 – continue north on  CR 31 Engle Moler Road, short distance, past a lane on the west/left-hand side, turn left/northwest onto Rolling Nolls Road; follow ninety-degree bend right/north and that is renamed Quinn Lea Road; follow bend to the left/west, continue to the end:
  24. Quinn Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1794 – Joseph McMurran 1852, Joseph McMurran 1862 – reverse-route on Quinn Lea Road, then Rolling Nolls Road, to CR 31 Engle Moler Road, turn left/north, turn left/west next turn on to Paint Horse Court – to the end is:
  25. Caton Place (NOTE: MIGHT BE INCORRECT NAME, CATON PLACE AT TROUGH ROAD/RIVER ROAD – 1883) – Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1780 – S. J. Taylor’s heirs & Dr. L. H. Taylor 1852, S. J. Taylor’s heirs & Dr. L. H. Taylor 1862 – reverse-route to CR 31 Engle Moler Road, turn left/north, past next left/west turn, continue, turn right/east down driveway of Donley Farm, on the left hand side of the lane:
  26. Fertile Plain Quarter
    Type: Servants Quarters Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – continue on lane to: 

    26a. Fertile Plain
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1818 – reverse-route to CR 31 Engle Moler Road, turn right/north, thru intersection at Molers Crossroads, continue short distance on CR  31/2  Engle Moler Road, turn left/west on to River Road, follow it around ninety-degree bend to the right/north, then ninety-degree bend to the left/west when it becomes CR 17/1 Cement Mill Road, follow around a ninety-degree bend to the right/north, short distance, at the next four-way intersection on the right-hand closer corner is:

  27. James Hendricks House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1870 – Jacob Reinhart 1852, Jacob Reinhart 1862 – continue past two lanes on the right-hand side, soon a fork in the road, the left/west fork is Cedar Lane Drive; bear to the soft right on to CR 17/1 Cement Mill Road, road forks with a very long lane to the right/east; bear to the right, staying on River Road as “CR 17/1 River Road”; road bends slightly to the left; just before next merging road on the right/east side there is:
  28. David Hoffman House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1870 – David Hoffman 1852, David Hoffman 1862, David Hoffman 1883 – NOTE: {“on the right/east” – possible error in map location on the survey map: all maps 1852, 1862, 1883 show David Hoffman house at same location but exactly on the other side left/west side of CR 17/1 Cement Mill Road,} –
    continue on “CR 17/1 River Road”, towards the river, past a long lane to the right/east, past another long lane to the left/west, “CR 17/1 River Road” bends to the left/west to along the river, crossing over Rattlesnake Run; on the west side of Rattlesnake Run, on the left/south side of road, there is:
  29. Kindale Valley Mill
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – John Hoffman 1852, John Hoffman 1862 –
    very close by and due west: 

    29a. Kindale Cabin
    John Hoffman 1852, John Hoffman 1862 – reverse-route back to CR 31/2 Engle Moler Road/Knotts Road via CR 17/1 Cement Mill Road; at the intersection with CR 31/2 Engle Moler Road/Knotts Road, turn left/north, turn left/west at the next lane to:

  30. Christian Reinhart House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1860 – Christian Reinhart 1852, Christian Reinhart 1862 – reverse-route to CR 31/2 Knott’s Road, turn left/north on to CR 31/2 Knott’s Road, continue toward the river, when road forks with Knott’s Road to the west and Duncan Road to the east, take CR 31/2 Knott Road on the left/west side at the river, to:
  31. McShane’s Landing
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – Samuel Knott 1852, Samuel Knott 1862 –  and to the east on the river: 

    31a. McShane’s Ferry
    Type: Ferry Material: site Date: c. 1820 – Samuel Knott 1852, Samuel Knott 1862  –
    reverse-route back to CR 31/2 Knotts & Engle Moler  Road, turn right/west onto CR 31 Engle Moler Road; continue; just before Rattlesnake Run, on the left/south side is:

  32. Linden Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1818 – Levi Moler 1852, Levi Moler 1862 –
    continue west on CR 31 Engle Moler Road, cross Rattlesnake Run, turn left/south to:
  33. Old  School Site
    {NOTE: A school was on the maps of 1852 and 1862 and is shown as a small lot owned by “M. Kidwiler,” located on the north side of a sharp ninety-degree turn to the left/south in CR 31 Engle Moler Road. Today, that is a private lane that is OFF the County Road and the lane to McMurran Farm, that the school was on the right/wets-hand side of.} –
    continue, go past left/south short, lane to house, next turn, turn left/south into McMurran Farms; follow around ninety-degree bend to the left to:
  34. McMurran Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1785 – Conrad Shindler 1852, Conrad Shindler 1862 – reverse-route onto CR 31 Engle Moler Road; to the north opposite, well off the road is: {NOTE: closest to it is the terminus from the east of Old Stonehouse Road (of two so named and parallel, this is the northernmost Old Stonehouse Road), located a right/east turn off of Trough Road, after the intersection with the Osbourne Farm}:
  35. George Reynolds House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: 1812 – Jacob W. Reynolds 1852, Jacob W. Reynolds 1862 – continue west on CR 31 Engle Moler Road, on the left/south side at Trough Road intersection is, on the southeast corner is:
  36. Aspen Pool
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: 1827 – Adam Showman 1852, Adam Showman 1862 – turn right/north on to CR 31/1 Trough Road; go half a mile, as CR 31/1 Trough Road bends ninety-degrees to the east to, go straight at dirt lane to
    {NOTE: The dirt lane is mis-labeled on the Google Map as Trough Road, whereas the real Trough Road proceeds to the east then turns left and northward}:
  37. Osbourne Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – James Osbourn 1852, James Osbourn 1862 – reverse-route on to CR 31/1 Trough Road, turn left/east, follow around ninety-degree bend to the left/north, past Old Stonehouse Road, past Fairview both on right/east side, turn right/east on to third lane to:
  38. George Fulk House
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1870 – {NOTE: No record of structure here on 1852, 1862 maps.} – continue on the lane, bearing to the right/south, follow the lane around a left/east ninety-degree bend, follow it northward, follow it around a sharp bend to the southeast to the house:
  39. Borden Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1880? – Jacob Staley 1852, Jacob Staley 1862
    {NOTE: The house is at the site of a structure in the 1852, and 1862 maps.} –
    reverse-route back to Trough Road, turn right/north to T-intersection with River Road, where there are, to the east of the intersection the following:
  40. Long Necker {NOTE: Only one structure is shown on the 1852, 1862 maps located where Long Necker is.} on the right/south side:Trough Road Resource
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – George W. Caton 1883, – same side:

    River Road Resource 4
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – Jacob Staley 1852 – same side:

    Long Necker
    Type: House Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – Jacob Staley 1862, Markell 1883 –
    still to the east of the Trough/River Road T-intersection, on the north side of River Road is:

  41. Pack Horse Ford
    Type: Ford Material: site Date: c. 1730 – reverse-route on River Road, going west, there are five features; on the left/south side:
  42. “Botler’s Mill House”
    Type: Mill House Material: brick Date: c. 1835 – A. R. Boteler 1852, A. R. Boteler 1862 – further west on the south side of River Road. slightly off the road in a hillside is:
  43. Cement Mill Kiln
    Type: Kiln Material: stone Date: c.1830 – A. R. Boteler 1852, A. R. Boteler 1862 –
    on the right/north river side there are:
  44. “Botler’s Mill”
    Type: Cement Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – A. R. Boteler 1852, A. R. Boteler 1862 – further west on the river side:
  45. Cement Mill Dam Wall
    Type: Dam Material: stone Date: c.1830 – A. R. Boteler 1852, A. R. Boteler 1862 –
    further west on the river side:
  46. Cement Mill Kiln Battery
    Type: Kiln Material: stone Date: c.1830 – A. R. Boteler 1852, A. R. Boteler 1862 –
    continue on River Road to Shepherdstown, following the road as it bends ninety-degrees south, away from the river and goes up a hill, continues to the west, go past two private entrances on the right/north side, past the entrance to Valley Court on the left/south side, the second house on the north side of River Road and slightly to the west from the T-intersection of Valley Court and River Road is:
  47. Towner House
    River Road Resource 2 – Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Benjamin Towner 1852, Benjamin Towner 1862 – From Valley Court intersection, continue west on East German Street, immediately after the Reformed Church on the left/south side, turn left/south on to S. Mill Street and, at T-intersection to CR 230 Flowing Springs Road and on a bend and due east of O’Hurley’s General Store, opposite facing is:
  48. Toll House Shepherdstown Resource 37
    Type: Toll House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – turn left/south on to CR 230 Flowing Springs Road, to the left/east side off the road and up a long lane behind the auto repair shop and three houses is:
  49. Shepherdstown Resource 50
    Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1870 – NOTE: No structure shown on 1852, 1862, 1883 maps. Henry Boteler’s Heirs 1852, Henry Boteler’s Heirs 1862, Chas Aglionby 1883 -continue south on CR 230 Flowing Springs Road, after Hoxton Financial on the east side, immediately after Bon Aire Homes, turn left/east on to long lane to:
  50. Pine Crest
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – Henry Boteler’s Heirs 1852, Henry Boteler’s Heirs 1862, Chas Aglionby 1883 – reverse-route to CR 230 Flowing Springs Road, opposite facing and out of sight and up  on a ridge where a salvage yard presently exists is the site of:
  51. Bedford House
    Date: 1810 – Edmund J. Lee 1852, Edmund J. Lee 1862 – turn left/south from lane from Pinecrest, past a lane on the right/west, Pearl Street in Beeline Estates, just before east side intersection with Engle Moler Road, but on the west side is the lane to:
  52. Springdale
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1770 – John H. McEndree 1852, John H. McEndree 1862, Dr. Isaac Tanner 1883 – continue south on CR 230 Flowing Springs Road, past two lanes called Heritage Dr. past Big Oak Dr, immediately followed by Covenant Baptist Church, on the left/east side where there is a dirt lane turning into the south border of a field and, further in, a hand water pump, it is the site of the tree destroyed by a storm around 1925-1930:
  53. Money Tree
    Type: Site Material: n/a Date: c. 1864 – Shaw Whitmer Map 1928 – continue south on CR 230 Flowing Springs Road to intersection immediately north of fork in CR 230, turn left/east on to CR 31/1 Trough Road, the first structure on the left/south side is:
  54. Coffinberger House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – Col. Edward Lucas 1852, Col. Edward Lucas 1862 – continue east on CR 31/1 Trough Road, to the second structure on the north side of the road:
  55. Rev. James Black House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:1824 – Rev. James Black 1852, Rev. James Black 1862 – reverse-route to CR 31/1 Trough Road, turn left/west on to Trough Road, continue to stop sign at CR 230 Flowing Springs Road, go straight, due west on to CR 16/1 Gardners Lane; short distance on the right/north side is:
  56. Rosemount
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – NOTE: Not on 62, 64, 83 maps, is on Whitmer 1928 map and is shown opposite and north of the Black Farm – continue east on CR 31/1, immediately turn right/south on to long lane, cross over Rattlesnake Run on the lane and to the east of the lane’s terminus is:
  57. John H. McEndree House
    Type: Farm House Material:  Date: – John H. McEndree 1852, John H. McEndree 1862, Engle 1883 – NOTE: Howell Brown map of 1852 is damaged where site of house might be – reverse-route to intersection with CR 230 Flowing Springs Road from Shepherdstown to the left/north, CR 31/1 Trough Road facing and due east, and, to the immediate right/south, a fork in CR 230. Go straight and follow the soft right/south road, which is the further of the two roads in the forking on to CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike to Uvilla. (The road forking to Charles Town is CR 17 Flowing Springs Road).continue short distance, cross Rattlesnake Run, pass two lanes on the left/east side, road turns ninety-degrees to the left/east, continue then straight a very short distance, on the right/east side of CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike is:
  58. “Conrad House”
    (Spelled: “Conard,” SEE Davis, “Between the Shenandoah and the Potomac”), Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1845 – Col. Ed. Lucas 1852, Col. Ed. Lucas 1862 – continue south, short distance, opposite and slightly past small structure on the left/east side of the road, but on the right/west side is:
  59. Rhinehart Hendricks House (Spelled “Reinheart”)
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1830 – Danl Hendricks 1852, Danl Hendricks 1862 – continue short distance, follow bend in CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike to the left/east, on the left/north side of the road and near the road is:
  60. Rhinehart Hendricks House (Spelled “Reinheart”)
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1830 – Jas Hendrick’s heirs 1852, Jas Hendrick’s heirs 1862 – continue on CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike, road bends to the right/south; opposite to the north to the bend is a gravel lane, called Duncan Lane; turn left/north on to the gravel lane at the point CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike bends right/south; continue north on Duncan Lane (gravel), past structure on the right/east side; continue, lane makes ninety-degree bend to the right/east with a structure to the left/north;  go short distance, lane bends left/north, short distance, lane bends right/east, continue longer distance, lane bends to the left/north, lane bends to right/east to:
  61. Old Licklider House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1820 – George Licklider 1852, George Licklider 1862 – reverse-route on Duncan Lane back to intersection with CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike, turn left on to CR 230, continue south, past a short lane on the left/east, to a second lane left/east side to:
  62. Adam Link Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1810 – Adam Link 1852, Adam Link 1862 – continue south to intersection with CR 17/3 French Road, on the northwest corner is:
  63. Unionville PO (Wayside)
    Type: Post Office/House Material: frame structure Date: c. 1850 – (Union Store) “Hess” 1862 – continue west on CR 17/3 French Road, just before a ninety-degree, right/northward bend in Route 17/3 French Road, on the left hand/south side, down a long lane is:
  64. Broad View
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1880 – Sam Melvin’s heirs 1862, “Melvin” 1864 – reverse-route to CR 17/3 French Road, turn left/west, short distance, turn next right/north onto lane to:
  65. French House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – Dan Hess 1862 – reverse-route to CR 17/3 French Road, turn right/west, follow a ninety-degree, right/northward bend in CR 17/3 French Road, go short distance, follow a ninety-degree bend in the road to the left/west, continue west to T-intersection with CR 17 Flowing Springs Road; turn right/northbound on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, continue north, go past three lanes on the left/west side, past a frame house, close to the road on the right/east side; immediately after that, turn right/east on to a long lane to:
  66. Linden Grove
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1845 – Col. Robt Lucas 1862, “Lucas” 1864 –
    reverse-route back on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn right/northbound, go a short distance, past a lane and house on the right/east side of CR 17, go a short distance, on the left-hand/west side, off the road on the outside of a bend in CR 17 that tends to the right/east, is:
  67. Abraham Snyder House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date:1825 – Abraham Snyder-Pleasant Valley 1862, Snyder” 1864 – continue north on CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, go past James Way on the right/east side, past two more lanes also on the right/east side of CR 17, turn left/west just after a house close to the road, to the farm gate to:
  68. Cold Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1810 – Col. Robt A. Lucas 1852, Col. Robt A. Lucas 1862, “Lucas” 1864 – continue north on CR 17 Flowing Springs Road; go by one, immediate lane on the right/east side, go to the next right/east lane and turn in to:
  69. Pritchard/Link House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1890 – Adam Link 1862, “Link” 1864 –
    reverse-route back on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn right/north and turn left/west immediately on to the lane to:
  70. Elmwood
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1797 – Dr. Robert A. Lucas 1852, Dr. Robert A. Lucas 1862 – near and due south from the house: Elmwood Log House Type: Servants Quarters Material: log Date: c. 1800 – Dr. Robert A. Lucas 1852, Dr. Robert A. Lucas 1862 – reverse-route, turn left/south on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road to the T-intersection of CR 17/3 French Road and CR 17 Flowing Springs Road; almost facing French Road on the right-hand/west side of CR 17 Flowing Springs Road is:
  71. Fairview (Flowing Springs)
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1870 – Abraham Snyder 1852, Abraham Snyder 1862 – continue south on CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, a short distance on the left/east side is CR 16/3 Whitmer Road, turn right/west onto the road, continue west, in a wooded area a short distance from CR 16/3 Whitmer Road, on the left/south side (before the first right/north  side lane (and, after that, a ninety-degree bend to the right/north in CR 17 Flowing Springs Road) is:
  72. Rocky Retreat
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – R. Duffield 1852, R. Duffield 1862 –
    reverse-route on CR 16/3 back to intersection with CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn right/south on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, continue short distance, turn at next left/east turn on to lane to:
  73. Cottage Hall
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – James R. Waugh’s heirs 1862, “Waugh” 1864 – continue south on CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, go past two side streets on the right/west side, both called Elk Branch Dr., continue to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road intersection with CR 16/4 Luther Jones Road, on the northwest corner is:
  74. Elk Branch Church
    Type: Church Material: stone Date:1829 – Henry Snyder’s Heirs 1852, Henry Snyder’s Heirs 1862 – turn right/west onto 16/4 Luther Jones Road, on the right/north side of the road behind the Elk Branch Church is the:
  75. Rissler House
    Type: Store/House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Henry Snyder’s Heirs 1852, Henry Snyder’s Heirs 1862 – immediately due west of the preceding structures on the same right/north side of 16/4 Luther Jones Road is:
  76. Elk Branch Manse
    Type: Manse Material: brick Date: c. 1840 –
    Henry Snyder’s Heirs 1852, Henry Snyder’s Heirs 1862 – continue west on CR 16/4 Luther Jones Road; about halfway from CR 17 Flowing Springs and the Ridge Road intersection to the west, well off the road on the south side, is:
  77. Myers Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – Lewis Neill’s hrs. 1862, “Neill” 1862 – as the road bends slightly to the right/northwest, on the right/north side of 16/4 Luther Jones Road is:
  78. Solomon Snyder House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – Solomon Snyder 1852, Solomon Snyder 1862 – reverse-route back to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn right/southbound on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Rd;  just before RR track, on left (west-side) is:
  79. Melvin Warehouse
    Type: Warehouse Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – due west from Melvin Warehouse, off the main road, and just north of the railroad tracks is:
  80. Harman House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1900 – Saml. Ridenour 1852, Saml. Ridenour 1862 – (NOTE could be older than c. 1900, or replaced after fire). – reverse-route back to CR 17  Flowing Springs Road; on the northeast corner of  CR 17  Flowing Springs Road and CR 17/2  Melvin Road is:
  81. Duffields Store
    Type: Store Material: frame Date: c. 1900 – (NOTE: Earlier, drawing of structure very similar to today appears in a book of drawings made in 1864, “entitled “The James E. Taylor Sketchbook”). – turn on to CR 17/2 Melvin Road, continue east, a short distance, on the right/south side along the railroad track is:
  82. Duffields Depot
    Date: 1839 – called the oldest, still-standing freight train station in the United States – continue east on CR 17/2 Melvin Road, turn up next long lane left/north to:
  83. Belmont
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1851- Dr. Lewis S. Eichelberger 1852, “Wright” 1864 – continue east on CR 17/2 Melvin Road, next structure, north side to:
  84. General Darke Farm
    Type: Servants Quarters Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – Jos. T. Hess 1862, “Melvin” 1864 – continue east on CR 17/2 Melvin Road, follow ninety-degree bend to the left/north, a short distance, and a ninety-degree bend to the right/east, called (“Skeetersville”); on the south side of CR 17/2 Melvin Road and “inside the bend” is:
  85. Skeetersville Resource 1
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1870 – “Miles” 1852, “Miles” 1862 – continue east around “the bend” on CR 17/2 Melvin Road; on the outside, north side is:
  86. Melvin House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – Melvin 1862, “Melvin” 1864 –
    continue east on CR 17/2 Melvin Road to intersection with CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike, turn left/northbound on to CR 230; continue short distance, past Uvilla Methodist Church on the left/west side, on the right, east side of CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike, on the south corner of Uvilla Road is:
  87. Uvilla Lutheran Church
    Type: Church Material: brick Date: 1856. This concludes a continuous “tour” of 1860 structures. The two, next mapped structures – Eichelberger House and Homestead Farm  – are mapped by themselves. Following begins a new “tour” of structures beginning with the Rion Hall property off Route 340 near Halltown.
  88. Eichelberger House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1870 – Wm Strider 1852, Wm Strider 1862.
  89. Homestead Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – John Engle 1852, John Engle 1862.
  90. From Flowing Springs Road and Route 340 intersection, continue east; approaching the left/north turn to Halltown, turn right/east on to a long lane leading to:
    Rion Hall Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – William Lucas 1852, Lucas 1863 – continue on lane bearing to the right to:
  91. Rion Hall
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1836 – William Lucas 1852, Lucas 1864 – reverse-route to Route 340, turn right/east on Route 340, continue thru Halltown light and intersection, past the Customs Training Center on the right/south side of Route 340, turn right/south at the Flea Market on to CR 27 Millville Road, continue south, past a sharp left/east turn to the River Riders, continue south on CR 27 Millville Road; continue as a quarry lake appears to the left/east side of CR 27 Millville Road, turn on to a long lane on the right/west side, turn off the lane left/south in front of:
  92. John Allstadt House
    Type: House Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – John H. Allstadt 1852, John H. Allstadt 1862, John Allstadt 1883 – continue south on the lane in front of Allstadt’s south a short distance and the lane enters a small, wooded area to:
  93. “O’Brien House” – Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850
    William Rider 1852,  Lucas 1863, William Lucas Est. L’Avanir – reverse-route back to CR 27 Millville Road, turn right/south, continue south on  CR 27 Millville Road, bear right where road forks, go short distance, on the left-hand/south side is:
  94. Keyes Still House & Chopping Mill
    Type: Chopping Mill Material: site Date: c. 1830 – Isaac N.Carter 1852 (NO MILL SHOWN), Isaac N.Carter 1862 (NO MILL SHOWN),  Mary Ann Allstadt 1883-
    reverse-route CR 27 Millville Road, continue north, bear right/east on to Boomery Road,
    short distance, on the left/west side at the end is:
  95. Allstadt House
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1800 – John H. Allstadt 1852, John H. Allstadt 1862, John Allstadt 1883 – adjacent is:
  96. Allstadt Ordinary
    Type: Ordinary Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – John H. Allstadt 1852, John H. Allstadt 1862, John Allstadt 1883 – reverse-route on Boomery Road, to intersection with  CR 27 Millville Road, bear right/north to Route 340, turn right/east on to Route 340 to the next stop light; at the light, turn right/south, make the next immediate right/west turn on to CR 340/17 Campground Road towards Harpers Ferry KOA, turn right/north on to Old Taylor Lane, on the left side is:
  97. Edward Tearney House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – Edward Tearney 1883, {NOTE: No structure shown on prior maps.} – reverse-route back to light at Route 340, turn left/west, continue over the hill, past Bakerton road on the right/north side;  continue west to next light and Halltown intersection, turn right/north, bear sharp left in the bend in the road, continue to stop sign at Halltown, turn right/north on to CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike, past the post office on the right/east side is:
  98. Claremont
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1815 – Henry Miller 1852, Henry Miller 1862 (structure near post office), Miller 1864 – reverse-route back to CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike; continue on CR 230 Shepherdstown Pike to Oregon Trail entrance on the right/east side of the CR 230, opposite on the left/west side on 230 is a short lane to:
  99. Robert Miller House
    Type: Farm House Material: stucco Date: c. 1850 – Henry Miller 1852, Henry Miller 1862, Miller 1863 – (No second structure at this site on these maps) –
    reverse-route to SR 230 Shepherdstown Pike, turn/left north, past General Early Drive on the left/west side, and the next, following, Gap View Blvd; opposite on the right/east side of SR 230 Shepherdstown Pike is a lane to:
  100. Needwood Farm House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – Henry Moler 1852, Henry Moler 1862, Moler 1864 – continue north on SR 230 Shepherdstown Pike short distance, on the left/west side of road on Elk Branch on this, the south side, is:
  101. “Locust Grove” (called Locust Spring on 1883 map)
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1841 – George Lynch 1852, George Lynch 1862, Lynch 1863 – continue north on 230 Shepherdstown Pike, on left/west side of 230 Shepherdstown Pike and on north side of Elk Branch is:
  102. Buckles Farm
    Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1870 (older referred to and visited in 1864 by James E. Taylor) – Brisben McCurdy 1852, Brisben McCurdy 1862, “McCarty” 1864 –
    opposite Buckles on 230 Shepherdstown Pike at gate, close to the road and immediately south of the Cabbin Run Dr. entrance to Meadowbrook is:
  103. Henkle House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1780 – John T. Barbara Henkle 1862, Henkle 1863 – continue north on 230 Shepherdstown Pike, turn left/west onto CR 22 Job Corps Road, go short distance; as CR 22 Job Corps Road bends slightly to the left/south, turn left/south on to next private road after Apple Cross Road to:
  104. Foley Orchard House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – Michael Foley 1852, Michael Foley 1862 – reverse-route back to CR 22 Job Corps Road, turn right/east on to Road to stop sign at 230 Shepherdstown Pike, turn right/south back to Halltown tom complete this “tour.”
  105. (Driving directions, starting at Route 340 light at Halltown to the first circa 1860 historic structure on Flowing Springs Road – From the stop light on Route 340 at Halltown, go west towards Charles Town, continue through stop light intersection with Country Club Road, continue west thru another stop light (Walmart), continue to three more stop lights; at the third stop light at the intersection with CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn right/west, continue through a stop light (Martin’s), continue a short distance, at the next intersection (with no stop light) continue, bearing right/north thru a yield sign on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road; continue north on CR 17 Flowing Springs Road past Grayrock Rd on the right/east side, past Flowing Acres Road on right/east side, turn right/east on to Marie Dr., left/north on to Daisy Lane, turn right/east on to Evergreen, on the left-hand/north side is:
  106. Bretsch House (Walnut Grove, not the main house)
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1835 – George R. Beall 1852, George R. Beall 1862 – reverse-route onto Daisy Lane, Marie Drive; opposite on the west side of CR 17 Flowing Springs Road and facing the driver is:
  107. Aglionby House (Peighton)
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1830 – Col. Francis Yates 1852, Col. Francis Yates 1862 – turn right/north on CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, continue past Thumper (entrance into Briar Run Estates) on the left-hand/west side of CR 17 Flowing Springs Road; continue north, turn right/east on to CR 24 Country Club Road, continue east; opposite on the north side of CR 24 Country Club Road to the last egress into Breckenridge subdivision called Posting Way, and on the left/north side is the entrance to Beallair; turn into Beallair, follow thru the small subdivision to:
  108. Beall-Air Servant Quarters
    Type: Servant Quarters Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – Col. Lewis William Washington 1852 – due east and nearby is: 

    108a. Beall-Air
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1845 – Col. Lewis William Washington 1852 –
    reverse route but still within the Beallair subdivision, continue due north from Beallair to beyond the northern edge of the community; in a field, follow the lane north as it turns ninety degrees to the east, continue on the lane eastward to a small wooded area on the left/north side where there is:

  109. Henderson House
    Type: Material: Date: Unkwn. – Richard Henderson 1852, Richard Henderson 1862, Henderson 1864 – reverse route back to Beallair subdivision, reverse-route to CR 24 Country Club Road, turn left/south; cross a pond, turn left/east at the first turn; down a lane, where the lane bends ninety-degrees to the north, the house on the outside of the bend is:
  110. Riddle House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – Robert M. English 1852 – reverse route back to CR 24 Country Club Road, turn left/south onto CR 24 Country Club Road, continue to next right/east turn to:
  111. Walnut Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1830 – Dr. William F. Alexander 1852 –
    on the property, southwest from the main house, across a field is: 

    111a. Walnut Hill Tenant House 2
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Dr. William F. Alexander 1852 –
    reverse-route back to CR 24 Country Club Road, turn left, return to the intersection of CR 24 Country Club Road and CR 17 Flowing Springs Road; at the T-intersection with CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn right/north onto CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, continue short distance, turn left/west on to the lane to:

  112. George Beall House  Site
    Type: Overseer’s House Material: log Date:c. 1850
  113. Media Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: log stone Date: c. 1800 – Rev. Wm T. Leavell 1862 –
    reverse-route back on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, go a short distance, turn a soft left on to  CR 18 Daniel Road, follow CR 18 Daniel Road past Fellowship Church on the right/north side, and when Daniel Road bends slightly to the right/north, continue a short distance, turn left on to a  lane to (NOTE: The earlier structure might have been located at the end of a long lane further east on the same property):
  114. Daniels House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – Charles Yates 1852, Charles Yates 1862  – reverse-route on lane, back to CR 18 Daniel Road, turn right, continue to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn left/north onto CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, go a short distance, on the left/west side, opposite and facing CR 22 Job Corps Road, is:
  115. Zoar Baptist Church
    Type: Church/Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1805 – Zoar M. H. (Meeting House) 1852, Zoar 1864 – followed immediately on the same side to the north is a lawn mower repair shop; continue north on CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, go very short distance, on the same, left/west side, turn down lane to:
  116. Bel-Mar
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1830 – Jacob Moler 1852 – reverse route back to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road; continue north, to just before the high school on the left/west side of CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn down a long lane to:
  117. Grove House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1835 – William Grove 1852 – reverse route on the lane, turn left/north on to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, follow the ninety-degree bend in the road to the right/east, at the next ninety-degree bend, to the left/north, go straight on to a private lane, follow a ninety degree bend in the lane to the right/south, towards its terminus on the right/west side of the lane is:
  118. Clearland
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1825  – Chas Moler 1852, Chas Moler 1862, Hurst 1864 – reverse-route back to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn right/north in the direction of Duffields; at the Duffields commuter parking lot, to the right/east, at a great distance that is inaccessible, near the railroad track and due south of Skeetersville, which is located on the north, other side of the railroad track is:
  119. Arcadia House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Dr. William Hunter 1852 – reverse-route back to CR 17 Flowing Springs Road, turn left in the direction of the high school; at the high school, turn right/west on to CR 20 Shenandoah Junction Road, go a very short distance, after Wildwood School, turn right/north on to lane to:
  120. Wildwood
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1850 – Mrs. Mary Engle’s heirs 1852, Mrs. Mary Engle’s heirs 1862, Henry Ronemous 1883 (NOTE: No structure shown on any of the maps.) – from Wildwood home, reverse-route back to CR 20 Shenandoah Junction Rd., turn right/west, continue past Shasta East Road on the north side, continue to T-intersection and a stop sign, turn right/north on to CR 20 Shenandoah Junction Rd. becoming 4th Street; continue north on 4th Street to the third intersection at CR 18 Potomac Street, turn left/west, continue through intersections for 3rd Street, 2nd Street and 1st Street, continue on CR 18 Potomac Street over rr tracks, follow a ninety-degree bend in the road to the right/north, continue a short distance and follow another ninety- degree bend in CR 18 Potomac Street to the left/west; continue under the rr overpass to a stop sign, facing to the right/north the rr crossing for CR 16 Ridge Road; opposite and due west on the west side of CR 16 Ridge Road is:
  121. Burr-McGarry House
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date: c. 1810 – John McGarry 1852, Burr 1864 – turn right/north on to CR 16 Ridge Road crossing the rr tracks, continuing north on CR 16 Ridge Road, on left/west side, opposite Hockman packing house is:
  122. “Orchard View”
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Not shown in 1862 or 1864
    NOTE: named “Woodside” (Whitmer Map, 1928) – continuing north on CR 16 Ridge Road to the intersection with CR 16/4 Luther Jones Road, turn left/west on to CR 16/4 Luther Jones Road, at first lane on the right/north side of CR 16/4 Luther Jones Road is:
  123. Oak Grove
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1870 – Humphrey Engle 1862, “Engle” 1864
    – reverse-route back to CR 16/4 Luther Jones Road, turn left/west to stop sign, turn left/north on to CR 16 Ridge Road, continues through apple orchard on both sides of the road; CR 16 Ridge Road bends slightly to the left/west, just beyond that bend, the lane on the left/west side of the road goes to:
  124. York Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1800 – Jno. Snyder Sr. 1863, “Snyder” 1864 –
    continue north on CR 16 Ridge Road to the next structure on the same left/west side of the road and near the road called:
  125. York Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1800 – Jno. Snyder Sr. 1864, “Snyder” 1864
    – continue north on CR 16 Ridge Road to the next structure on the same left/west side of the road and near the road called:
  126. Rock Spring (Ridge Rd)
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1805 – Jno. Snyder Jr. 1862, “Snyder” 1864
    – continue north past CR 16/3 Whitmer Road turn, follow the ninety-degree bend in the road to the left/west and up a hill, on the left/south side of the road, there is a lane that goes to:
  127. Glen Burnie
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1805 – Mrs. Ruth Glenn 1852, James W. Glenn 1862, “Glenn” 1864 – reverse route on the lane, turn left/west on to CR 16 Ridge Road, follow the road around a ninety-degree bend to the right/north; the first house on the inside of that ninety-degree angle on the right/east side is:
  128. Casserley Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – Charles T. Butler 1852 & 1862,  “Butler” 1864 – continue north on CR 16 Ridge Road; past a long lane on the right/east side of the road, through a small intersection with CR 16/2 Schoolhouse Rd.; just before the next lane on the right/east side is:
  129. Moore House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1800 – James A. Osbourn 1852 –
    continue north on CR 16 Ridge Road, go short distance; on the same, right/east side and opposite a long lane off Ridge Road on the west side is:
  130. Sunnydale
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – Catherine Lafferty heirs 1852 & 1862, “Lapporty” 1864 – continue north on CR 16 Ridge Road, go short distance; on the same, right/east side, turn right down a long lane to:
  131. Landsdale
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1815 – Col. John F. Hamtramck 1862, “Hamtramck” 1864 – reverse-route to CR 16 Ridge Road, turn right/north, go short distance, the next turn on the left/west side of the road is:
  132. Hillside
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Charles T. – Rose Hill 1862, “Butler” 1864 – continue north on CR 16 Ridge Road, go short distance; road forks with
    CR 16 Ridge Road to the left and CR 16/1 Gardners Lane to the right; go right on to CR 16/1 Gardners Lane; where CR 16/1 Gardners Lane
    merges with CR 16/1 Gardners Lane, turn left/north and the merged roads become CR 16/5 Morgans Grove Road; the next short lane on the left/west side of the road is:
  133. Locust Ridge
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1800 – (NOTE: Not shown on 1852, 1862 or 1864 Maps or 1928 Whitmer map.) – continue north on CR 16/5 Morgans Grove Road, past a lane on the left/west side, past Deepwoods Trail on the right/east side, past a lane on the left/west side of CR 16/5 Morgans Grove Road, follow the road around a ninety degree bend to the left/west, continue west; just before crossing the rr tracks, turn right/north on to Falling Spring Road, follow a ninety degree bend in the Road to the right/east; follow the Road as it bends ninety-degrees to the left/north; to the left/west side of the Road is:
  134. Falling Spring Quarter
    Type: Slave Quarter Material: log/block Date: c. 1830 – and due west of that structure is: 

    134a. Falling Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Jacob Morgan 1862, “Morgan” 1864
    – reverse-route on Falling Spring Road, turn right/west on to CR 16/5 Morgans Grove Road, cross the rr tracks, continue to the light at CR 480, turn right/north, continue past a structure on the right/east side, past a stone monument on the right/east side, to the lane to:

  135. Rosebrake/The Grove
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1858 – Henry Bedingers Heirs 1852 & 1862 –
    reverse-route on CR 480, continue south to the light; continue south, make next left/west turn in to Morgan’s Grove Park, the foundation and site of the pavilion is that of:
  136. Fountain Rock
    Type: House Material: stone site Date: c. 1790 – Alexander Boteler 1862, “Boteler” –
    reverse-route back to Route 480, turn left/south, continue past the CR 16 Ridge Road access on the left/east side, continue over three small hills and at the same time, past the entrance on the right/west to Deerfield subdivision, after the last hill in the “flat” is an entrance to a farm on the right/west side, which is:
  137. Vincent Butler Farm/Mt. Pleasant
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1810 – Dr. Vincent M. Butler 1862, “Butler” 1864 – reverse-route back to Route 480, turn right/south, continue a short distance, turn right/west on to CR 48/1 Persimmon Lane, continue west to the sixth lane on the right/north side of CR 48/1 Persimmon Lane; (en route, CR 48/1 Persimmon Lane bends slightly to the left/south, “Persimmon Knoll” is the fourth, right/north turn, followed by a ninety-degree bend to the right/north, after a short distance, a slight bend to the left/west, a ninety-degree bend to the right/north, a ninety-degree bend to the left/west, crossing Rocky Marsh Run, another 45-degree bend to the right/north with the lane to the property next on the right/east side (the lane crosses Rocky Marsh Run) to:
  138. “William S. Kearney House”
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1837 – Wm S. Kerney 1862 – reverse-route on the lane, turn right/north on to CR 48/1 Persimmon Lane, immediately after the next lane on the right/east side is:
  139. Walker-Keller Cabin
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date:1839 – Jones-Walker 1862 – continue north on CR 48/1 Persimmon Lane, turn right/east where CR 40 Mt. Airy Road merges into CR 48/1 Persimmon Lane, go a short distance, on the right/south side, just before crossing Rocky Marsh Run, is:
  140. Wright – Cross House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1820 – Henry Orndorff’s Heirs 1852 –
    reverse-route on CR 48/1 Persimmon Lane to Route 480, turn right/south, go a short distance, after a wooded area with a pond on the right/west is:
  141. Rockland
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: 1814 – John H. Schley 1862. “Schley” 1864
    – continue south on Route 480, go a short distance, turn right/west at the next lane, continue on the lane to:
  142. Knode House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – Dr. Robert P. Magruder 1862 –
    reverse-route on the lane, turn right/south on to Route 480, go a short distance, turn at the next left/east turn on to the lane to:
  143. Rockdale
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Phineas Marshall 1862 –
    Reverse-route on the lane to Route 480, turn left/south to next full intersection with CR 48/2 Warm Springs Road to the east; CR 10 Van Clevesville Road on the west; on the northwest corner of Walper’s Crossroads and Route 480 is:
  144. Pleasance
    Type: Farm House/Tavern Material: brick Date:1805 – John C. Walper 1862, “Walper” 1864 – on the southwest corner of Walper’s Crossroads and Route 480 is:

    144a. Walpers House
    Type: Farm House Material: stucco Date: c. 1830 – John C. Walper 1862, “Walper” 1864 – behind it to the west is: 

    144b. Walper House 2
    Type: Quarter Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – turn right/west on to CR 10 Van Clevesville Road; road bends slightly to the left/south, at the first lane on the left/south side is:

  145. Rose Lawn
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Uriah B. Kerney 1862, “Kerney” 1864
    – continue west on CR 10 Van Clevesville Road, as CR 10 Van Clevesville Road bends to the right/north, turn left/south on to a lane, follow the lane around a ninety-degree bend to the right/west; when the lane forks, turn on to the left/southward fork to:
  146. Vickers Farm (1852) Locust Grove
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – William G. Butler 1862, “Butler” 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 10 Van Clevesville Road, turn west on to CR 10 Van Clevesville Road, go past a lane on the right/north side, continue a short distance, turn right/east down a lane, turn left/north onto a short lane to:
  147. Southwood
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1825 – Uriah B. Kerney 1862, “Kerney” 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 10 Van Clevesville Road, turn west on to CR 10 Van Clevesville Road, road becomes Flagg’s Crossing Road, continue a short distance on the right side of the road is:
  148. Miller’s Tavern
    Type: Farm House/Tavern Material: brick Date: c. 1830 – Jenipher Hudgell 1862 –
    reverse-route to CR 10 Van Clevesville Road back to Route 480; go straight due east on to CR 48/2 Warm Springs Road; continue east past CR 16/2 Edgewood School Road on the left/north side, continue east, go past a lane on the right/south side of CR 48/2 Warm Springs Road, the next house on the left/north side going east is:
  149. White Oak
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Jas and Thos. Osbourn 1862, “Osbourne” 1864 – continue east on CR 48/2 Warm Springs Road, go past four turns on the right/south side (the fourth being Vista Court), the fifth turn goes to:
  150. Hazelfield
    Type: Farm House Material: stone/struc. Date: 1815 – Henry St. George Hunter 1852,  James A. Hurst 1883 – immediately northwest and nearby is: 

    150a. Hazelfield Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – Henry St. George Hunter 1852,  James A. Hurst 1883 – reverse-route on CR 48/2 Warm Springs Road back to the intersection with route 480; turn left/south on to Route 480, the first structure on the right/west side is:

  151. Walpers Blacksmith Shop
    Type: Blacksmith’s Shop Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – Samuel Ruckle – Rose Cottage 1862, “Osburn” 1864 – continue south on Route 480, turn left/east on to long lane to:
  152. Hope Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1840 – Mrs. Sarah P. Dandridge 1852 & 1862, “Dandridge” 1864 – reverse-route on the lane, turn left/south on Route 480, go past the church on the right/west side, the second small structure after the church on that side is:
  153. Kearneysville Resource 10/Bronson
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1810 – David G. Henkle 1852, “Henkle” 1864, Dr. D. W. Border 1883 – continue south on Route 480; alongside rr track, on the east side of Route 480 and immediately north of Charles Town Road (old Route 9) is:
  154. Kearneysville Resource 13/McIntyre
    Type: House Material: stone/brick Date: c. 1840 – Mrs. Eliza Jewett 1862, “Jewett” 1864
    –  at the light on Charles Town Road (old Route 9), turn right/west, continue past the: West Virginia Fruit Research Station (Aspen Dale – WVU – Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1850) on the right/north side of Charles Town Road (old Route 9); continue west to just before the Coast Guard station on the left/south side of the road; on the right/north side there is:
  155. Rocky Ridge
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1830 – Abram V. Vanmeter 1852, Abram V. Vanmeter 1862 – reverse-route on Charles Town Road (old Route 9) heading east; at the light at Route 480 intersection, turn right/south on to Route 480;
  156. Sur House  & Toll House
    from light at Charles Town Road in Kearneysville, go south on CR 1 Route 480, continue thru village of Kearneysville, past Rellim Farm on the left/east, down a small hill and curve, on the right/west side of road is: 

    Sur House
    Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – Mrs Eliza Jewett no structure 1852, Osborn, 1864 Thomas Turner (school house) 1883 – continue a short distance, on the left/east side of CR 1 Route 480 near the road is:

    156a. Samuel W Thomas House
    Type: Toll House Material: log Date: c. 1840 – no structure, 1852, J. Fox, 1883 –
    continue south on CR 1 Route 480 past exits for Route 9, go a short distance, on the right/west side of CR 1 Route 480 is CR 1/1 Bowers Road; turn right/west; CR 1/1 Bowers Road bends to the right/north, then bends ninety-degrees to the left/west, continue a short distance to a point where it bends slightly to the left/southwest; on the outside of the bend, turn right/north on to a lane to:

  157. Traveller’s Rest
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1765 – James Strider’s Heirs 1862 

    157a. Traveller’s Rest Quarters
    Type: Servants Quarters Material: stone Date: c. 1810 – James Strider’s Heirs 1862 –
    reverse-route, continue west on CR 1/1 Bowers Road; turn on to the next lane on the left/south side of CR 1/1 Bowers Road to:

  158. Quince Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – Minor Hurst 1852, Hurst 1864 –
    reverse-route, continue west on CR 1/1 Bowers Road; where Meadowland Way forks to the north from CR 1/1 Bowers Road, continue on CR 1/1 Bowers Road, as it bends almost ninety-degrees to the south, go a short distance, on the right/west side is:
  159. Bower Road Resource 2
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Jacob Morningstar 1852, Morningstar 1864
    – continue south on CR 1/1 Bowers Road; CR 1/1 Bowers Road comes to an intersection with CR 13 Strider Road; continue on CR 1/1 Bowers Road a short distance to the intersection with CR 3 Paynes Ford Road; turn left on to CR 3 Paynes Ford Road, go a short distance, opposite a road to the right, but on the left, opposite side of CR 3 Paynes Ford Road is:
  160. Rose Hill (Leetown)
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1860 – Isaac Strider’s Heirs 1852, Strider 1864 (shows structures), Isaac H. Strider, 1883 (shows both structures) – reverse-route to CR 3 Paynes Ford Road, turn left/east, follow CR 3 Paynes Ford Road as it bends ninety-degrees to the left/north, follow CR 3 Paynes Ford Road around another ninety-degree bend, turn right/east, continue on CR 3 Paynes Ford Road to the next lane on to private property on the right/south side, well off the road beyond and due south of the end of the lane is:
  161. Hopewell Run Mill
    Type: site Material: stone Date: c. 1790 – Meredith Helm 1852, Hurst 1864 –
    reverse-route on to CR 3 Paynes Ford Road, turn right/east to T-intersection with CR 1 Route 480, turn left/north on to CR 1 Route 480, go past a lane on the right/east side, past CR 1/4 Hite Road on the right/east side, go a short distance past a lane on the left/west side, on the right/east side to:
  162. Mantipike
    Type: Inn/Tavern Material: log/frame Date:1833 – Thomas G. Baylor 1852, Thomas G. Baylor 1862 – continue north on CR 1 Route 480, past CR 13 Strider Road on the left/west, continue past Woodbury Estate Road on the right/east side; continue, opposite a long lane on the left/west side of CR 1 Route 480 on right/east side of road, well off CR 1 Route 480 is:
  163. Western View
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1832 – James V. Moore 1852, Moore 1864 –
    continue on CR 1 Route 480 north, next right/east turn is CR 1/2 Border Road; turn, continue short distance on right/south side is:
  164. Anderson House 2
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1840 – Anderson 1883 (very small lot)
    – reverse-route to CR 1 Route 480, turn left/south, continue to intersection with CR 3 Paynes Ford Road on the right/west, go a short distance, and, near the road on the left/east side is:
  165. St. Bartholomew Church
    Type: Church Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – from St. Bartholomew Church on CR 1 Route 480, continue south through Leetown, to the right/west side of CR 1 Route 480 off the road is:
  166. Leetown Resource 3
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1835 – Lewis P. W. Balch 1852, Balch 1883 –
    go short distance, turn left/east on to Leetown Pike, go east on Leetown Pike, past the right/south turn that back tracks to CR 1; continue to next structure on the right/south side of the Leetown Pike, which is:
  167. Retirement
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1817 – George B. Beall 1852, “Beal” 1864
    – opposite, on left/north side and a distance from  Leetown Pike is:
  168. Spring Cabin
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – Wiltshire 1864 –
    continue east on Leetown Pike, go past another old structure on the right/south side of the road, past a lane on the left/north side of the road, continue past residence on right/south side of Cam Tabb’s residence, located close to the road, go a short distance, on right/south side of Pike is:
  169. Vinemont
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1810 – Thomas & William Mastin 1852, Mastin 1864 – continue to CR 1/15 Darke Lane intersection, turn right/south on to CR 6 Darke Lane, turn left/east down the first lane to:
  170. Tabb Ruin
    Type: Site Material: stone Date: c. 1800 – Minor Hurst 1852, “Hurst” 1864 –
    reverse-route to CR 6 Darke Lane, turn left/south onto CR 6 Darke Lane continue, turn left/east on to next lane to:
  171. O’Bannion House
    Type: House Material: stone Date: c. 1850 – Bryant O’Bannon 1852, O’Bannon 1864 –
    reverse-route turn right/north on to CR 6 Darke Lane, at intersection with Leetown Pike, go straight/northward  onto CR 1/15 Jefferson Orchard Road, continue past right/east side entrance into the County landfill; continue to T-intersection with CR 1/4 Hite Road, turn left/west, continue to the gated entrance on the right/north side of CR 1/4 Hite Road for Universal Products, inside is:
  172. Woodberry
    Type: Farm House Material: stone/stuc Date: c. 1835 – Dr. P. Rogers 1852, Gibson 1864, John S. Bowers 1883 – reverse-route on CR 1/4 Hite Road continue east past CR 1/15 Jefferson Orchard Road intersection to complex of structures on right/south side of the road:
  173. New Hopewell
    westernmost structure is: Hite House
    Type: Quarter Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – Col. Thomas Hite 1852, Hite 1864, Thomas Hite 1883 – 2nd most western is: 

    173a. New Hopewell Shop
    Type: Blacksmith Shop Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Col. Thomas Hite 1852, Hite 1864, Thomas Hite 1883 – turn right/south on to lane, the first of three structures encountered is:

    173b. New Hopewell
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: 1774 – Col. Thomas Hite 1852, Hite 1864, Thomas Hite 1883 – go a short distance to the east of that structure; slightly behind it is:

    173c. New Hopewell Quarter
    Type: Quarter Material: brick Date: c. 1850
    Col. Thomas Hite 1852, Hite 1864 – (the third structure to the rear is not pre-Civil War)
    reverse-route on CR 1/4 Hite Road and  go west to CR 1/15 Jefferson Orchard Road; turn left/south back to the intersection of Darke Lane and Leetown Pike; turn on to Leetown Pike and go left/eastward; continue a short distance to a lane on left/north side, turn on to it and drive past the County Animal Shelter to the end; on the right is a house; it is:

  174. Snow Hill/Poor House
    Type: Poor House Material: brick Date: c. 1815 – Miss Hannah Hurst 1852 –
    Reverse-route to Leetown Pike, turn left/east on Leetown Pike; go past the County Fair, turn left/north on to the next lane just before the left/north turn on to Wiltshire Road, it is:
  175. Roxley
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1860 – Elizabeth Coyle 1852
    reverse-route on the lane, turn left/east on to Leetown Pike, go a
    short distance; turn left/north on to CR 8/Brown Shop Road/Wiltshire Road; follow the road north as it bends slightly to the right/eastward, go past three lanes on the right/east side, go past Johnsontown Road on the left/west side, then at the next east/right hand side, turn in to lane to:
  176. Woodlawn
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1835 – John C. Wiltshire 1852, Wiltshire 1864
    – continue north on CR 8/Brown Shop Road/Wiltshire Road, past a lane on the right/east side, past a lane in a short distance on the left/west side, past another lane on the right/east side of the road to just before Industrial Boulevard on the right/east side, it is:
  177. Woodlawn Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – NOTE: House is listed only on the 1883 map and is called “The Walnuts.” – continue north on CR 8/Brown Shop Road/Wiltshire Road a very short distance, turn left/west on to a long lane to:
  178. Hurston
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1790 – Miss Hannah Hurst 1852, Hurst 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 8/Brown Shop Road/Wiltshire Road, turn right/south; continue to CR 1/4 Hite Road/Johnsontown Road, turn right/west, follow bend in the road ninety- degrees right/north, turn right/east on to a lane to the end to:
  179. Kate D. Moore House
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – reverse route to CR 1/4 Hite Road/Johnsontown Road, on the right/west side of the road almost opposite the lane to Moore’s is:
  180. Johnson House
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – continue south a short distance on CR 1/4 Hite Road/Johnsontown Road; about a hundred yards off the road to the right/west as the road bends ninety degrees to the left/east, is:
  181. Drew House
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1865 – continue east to CR 8/Brown Shop Road/Wiltshire Road, turn right/south to Leetown Pike; at that T-intersection turn left/east; go a short distance to, on the left/north side is:
  182. La Grange
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1835 – Mrs. Catherine Daniels 1852, Daniels 1864 – continue a short distance northwest from the house to: 

    182a. La Grange Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Mrs. Catherine G. Daniels 1852, Daniels 1864 – reverse-route back to Leetown Pike, turn left/east onto the Pike, continue past Wilson Dr. on the left/north side, past Stony Lane on the right/south side; continue past five roads on the right/south side of Leetown Pike, the last two being the beginning and exit of a loop called Lone Oak Road; after the second Lone Oak Road access, turn left/north on to CR 9/1 Currie Lane; continue past a lane on the left/west side, continue a distance north on CR 9/1  Currie Lane and turn right/east on to an extension road to CR 115, inside the lane’s first ninety-degree bend to the left/north is:

  183. Clay Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1835 – Wm Hurst 1852, Hurst 1864 –
    reverse-route back to CR 9/1  Currie Lane, turn right/north, continue past two lanes on the left/west side; then one lane on the right/east side, continue and turn left/west onto a lane; go to its end, bearing to the right to:
  184. Level Green
    Type: Farm House Material: stone/bric Date: c. 1800 – Gerard D. Moore 1852, Moore 1864 – reverse-route back to CR 9/1  Currie Lane and then to Leetown Pike; turn left/east on to Leetown Pike, continue east on  Leetown Pike, turn right/south on to State Road 115/Old Route 9, continue a short distance, on the right/west side is:
  185. West Edgewood
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – James B. Gibson (Edgewood) 1852, Gibson 1864, Wm F. Kemp 1883 – reverse route and go north on State Road 115/Old Route 9, continue past Leetown Pike on the left/west side, at the second lane on the left/west side turn in to:
  186. Aspen Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: brick log Date: c. 1835  – James G. Hurst 1852, Hurst 1863, Helen Byington 1883 – reverse-route from Aspen Hill’s lane, turn left/north on to State Road 115/Old Route 9, continue north to overpass and intersection with CR 9/1 Currie Lane; go straight across the overpass and continue north on State Road 115/Old Route 9, beyond a pond on the left side is:
  187. Mount Pleasant
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:1825
    Charles Yates 1852, Charles Yates 1862, Chas Aglionby 1883 (different from Gap View, which is further east) NOTE: Charles Yates and Charles Aglionby are the same person with a name change) – continue north on State Road 115/Old Route 9,
    go past Duncan Field Landing on the left, continue a short distance to Grant Road, turn left on to Grant Road, in the near distance and off the road to the right/north is:
  188. Leonard Davis House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1800 – Wm Burr 1862 – reverse-route on to State Road 115/Old Route 9, turn left on to road; continue north to N. Burr Road on the left side, turn on to N. Burr Road, go a very short distance past a turn on the right side, immediately after that turn on the right, same side is:
  189. James Burr House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1800 – James Burr 1862 – reverse-route from N. Burr Road to State Road 115/Old Route 9, turn left/north, continue north to the intersection and stop sign on to Wiltshire Road, turn right, continue under the Route 9 underpass to a stop light; turn right onto Charles Town Pike/Old Route 9, continue past the Motor Vehicle office on the left side, continue to Burr Business Park, turn left on to Edmond Road to a stop sign, continue straight on to Peter Burr Street, turn right after the last building on the right hand side and into that building’s parking lot; about a hundred yards away is:
  190. Peter Burr House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame/log Date: c. 1770 – Samuel Moore Heirs 1852, Saml Moore 1862, Moore 1864 – reverse-route back to Charles Town Road/Old Route 9, turn left, follow a long bend in the road to the right, continue to the marked entrance to Gap View Farm, named Gap View Road, to:
  191. Gap View
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – James L. Ranson 1852, James L. Ranson 1862, Ranson 1864, Charles Aglionby 1883 – reverse-route to Charles Town Pike/Old Route 9; turn left, go to a stop sign, turn right on to the overpass over the new Route 9; just beyond the overpass and at the first turn on the left side, turn onto a ramp to Route 9; on Route 9 continue through a stop light intersection to stores and eateries (Fairfax Blvd/Oak Lee Dr.), continue on Route 9 past an exit on the right to the race track and casino; continue on Route 9, bearing to the right; take exit ramp to Charles Town/Harpers Ferry; at the stop light at the top of the ramp, turn left/east on to Route 340 towards Harpers Ferry; go thru two stop light intersections; at the third stop light intersection (Country Club Road/CR 340/4 Marlow Road; turn right onto CR 340/4 Marlow Road and continue south; CR 340/4 Marlow Road bends ninety degrees to the right; within the bend in the road to the right after following the bend is:
  192. Rose Valley Retreat
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – Frances Gardner 1862 – and nearby: 

    192a. Rose Valley Quarter
    Type: Servants Quarters Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – Frances Gardner 1862 –
    continue south on CR 340/4 Marlow Road, past CR 26 Keyes Ferry Road intersection (“CR 340/4 Marlow Road” becomes “CR 26/Cattail Run Road”), on the left/east side is:

  193. Federal Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1851 Geo Eichelberger 1862 – on the left/east side of CR 26/Cattail Run Road, immediately south of Federal Hill, is: 

    193a. Eichelberger Mill
    Type: Mill Material: site Date: c. 1840 – George Eichelberger 1862 – off the road and east of Federal Hill is:

  194. Cowan House/Barn
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date:1810/50 – James Roper 1862 – continue south a short distance, on the right/west side of CR 26/Cattail Run Road and south of Cattail Run is:
  195. Fleetwood
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – John Moore 1862 –
    continue south on CR 26/Cattail Run Road, turn right/west on to Route 9; go short distance to Mechanicstown; turn left/south on to CR 25/Kabletown Road; continue south on CR 25/Kabletown Road, go past Fairview Drive on the right/west side, past the lane to Fairview Farm on the left/west side, continue to next right/west side turn to:
  196. Beelers Mill
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1850 – Abraham Isler 1862 – turn right/west, to behind mill wheel to: 

    196a. Beelers Mill House
    Type: Mill House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – Abraham Isler 1862 – reverse route and continue south on CR 25/Kabletown Road; go a short distance, on left/west side just before Tree Line Drive is:

  197. The Hermitage
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1830 – Roger Preston Chew 1862 –
    behind and nearby: 

    197a. The Hermitage Quarter
    Type: Quarter Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – Roger Preston Chew 1862  –  continue south on CR 25/Kabletown road, turn right/west on to CR 36/Old Cave Road; continue on CR 36/Old Cave Road; bear to the right at T-intersection, continue past Eastland subdivision along the right/north side; turn right/north on Roper Mill Road, just after Sanctuary Road (located on the other, south side of Old Cave Road) and just before the site of the George Washington Masonic Cave on the north side of CR 36/Old Cave Road is:

  198. Roper Mill (located just east of a pond and on the east side of Roper Mill Road, and on the north side of Bullskin Run)
    Type: Mill Material: site Date: c. 1840 – Hooff 1863 – due west in a wooded area and closer to the road and just before a single story private residence is: 

    198a. George Washington Masonic Cave; reverse route to CR 36/Old Cave Road; continue west on CR 36/Old Cave Road, turn left/south on to Old Cave Dr.; bear to the left/easterly direction on the loop; inside the loop to your right is:

  199. Cave Quarter House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1810 – Selden 1863 – reverse route to CR 36/Old Cave Road; turn left/west on to CR 36/Old Cave Road; drive past one more left/south lane/road and the next turn on the right/north, going to the second structure more distant is:
  200. Springland
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Samuel Lackland 1863
    NOTE: continue across modern-day Rte. 340 to westernmost portion of CR 36/Old Cave Road to south side of Bullskin, and left/south side of CR 36/Old Cave Road inside of a ninety-degree turn in the road is:
  201. Little Elmington
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1830 – James Roper 1852, Roper 1864 – reverse-route on CR 36/Old Cave Road to CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn right/south on to CR 25/Kabletown Road, after Windsor Road, turn the next right/west lane, continue west on the lane past a lane on the left/south, past a lane on the right/north, continue west a distance, follow a ninety-degree bend to the right/north to its terminus to:
  202. Uinta Resource
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date:c. 1850  – reverse-route to CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn next left/east on to CR 25/1 Mt Hammond Road; continue a distance, come to juncture with Mt. Hammond Lane, which is a “hard” right/south, and to its left, another lane heading southeast; take the latter lane to:
  203. Mount Hammond
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1800 – Roper 1864 –
    and southeast from the house and a fair distance to the Shenandoah River is: 

    203a. Hammond’s Ferry
    Type: Ferry Material: site Date:c. 1780 – reverse-route to Mt. Hammond Lane juncture,  make hard right/east on to Mt. Hammond Rd CR 25/1, go past first lane on the left/north side, at the next left/north turn, turn left/north up lane to:

  204. Tulip Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date:c. 1840 – Joseph Vanvacter heirs 1852, Vanvacter 1864  – reverse-route to CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn left/south on CR 25/Kabletown Road; close to CR 25/Kabletown Road on the right/west side: opposite a lane on the east side of CR 25/Kabletown Road to Shannon Hill, is:
  205. G. W. Clipp House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1840 – Risler 1864 – go east on Shannon Hill Lane to the end to:
  206. Shannon Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1840 – George Peters 1852, Peter Rouss 1864 –
    reverse-route to CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn left/south on CR 25/Kabletown Road, continue to CR 25/3 Old Shennandale Rd.; turn right/west, continue past a lane on the right/north, continue past a lane on the left/south, follow a ninety-degree bend to the right/north on CR 25/3 Old Shennandale Rd., go a short distance, turn left/west around a second ninety-degree bend in the road, continue a short distance on the right/north side to:
  207. Oakwood
    Type: Farm House Material: stucco Date:c. 1860 – reverse- route to CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn right/south, go short distance, make next left/east turn on to General Rogers Road, go a distance, turn left/north on to Avon Bend Road, follow the road around a ninety-degree bend to the left/north, and a ninety-degree bend to the right/east; continue east along the river to the left/north; turn left on to King Lear Drive, go short distance, turn left on to Macbeth Drive, continue due east until Macbeth becomes Bedford Drive, continue east, on the north side of Bullskin Run near the Shenandoah River is:
  208. Watson’s Factory
    Type: Woolen Mill Material: site Date:c. 1841 – Jenkins, Kable, Johnson Woolen Factory 1852  – on the east side of the Shenandoah River are: 

    208a. Gregory’s Ford
    Type: Ford Material: site Date:c. 1865 – and

    208b. Shannondale Ore Banks
    Type: Ore Banks Material: site Date:c. 1850 – reverse-route to Bedford Drive and Macbeth Drive BUT take a different route at that point and continue west on Macbeth Drive, turn right/north on to Stratford Lane, turn left on to King Lear Drive, bear right on to General Rogers Drive, after making the turn, to the left side of General Rogers Drive is:

  209. Avon Bend
    Type: Farm buildings Material: various Date: c. 1840 – Logan Osburn 1852, Osburn 1864
    – continue north on General Rogers Road, turn left/west onto Avon Bend Road, follow left/west thru ninety-degree bend in Avon Bend Road, bear right again on to General Rogers Road, continue back to CR 25/Kabletown Road; turn left/south a short distance on CR 25/Kabletown Road to the right/west side is:
  210. Kabletown Church
    Type: Church Material: stone Date:c. 1850 – continue south from the church on CR 25/4 Mill Lane to a fork in the road, turn west but still on  CR 25/4 Mill Lane, as the road bends to the left/south while still north of the Bullskin Run, on the right/north side is:
  211. Avon Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1777 – Osburn 1864 (NOTE: Called “Bullskin Farm” on 1928 Whitmer map) – continue south on CR 25/4 Mill Lane, cross over to the south side of Bullskin Run; on the left/east side of the road is:
  212. McCurdy Bullskin Mill
    Type: Mill Material: site Date:c. 1820 – James McCurdy 1852, McCurdy 1864
    – opposite the Mill, bear to the right/east and remain on CR 25/4 Mill Lane, passing Mill Road to the left/south; CR 25/4 Mill Lane bends to the left/south, on the inside of the bend to the east is:
  213. Daniel Heffelbower House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1826 – John McCurdy 1852, McCurdy 1864 –
    continue south on CR 25/4 Mill Lane, follow the Lane around a ninety-degree bend to the right/west, continue a distance; go past turn on the right/north side, when CR 25/4 Mill Lane bends to the right/north, on the outside of the bend is:
  214. Mountain View
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1820 – James M. McCurdy 1852 –
    due north from Mountain View, north of the Bullskin Run and accessible only from a lane from the structure’s north entrance off CR 25/3 Old Shennandale Road, is:
  215. William Osborne House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1830 – William Osburn 1852, Osborn 1864 –
    from Mountain View, reverse-route on CR 25/4 Mill Lane from Mountain View; re-cross the Bullskin Run to the north side, at the next T-intersection, turn right/south re-crossing again the Bullskin Run to its south side, the lane bends ninety degrees to the right/west to:
  216. Abraham Hefflebower House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1826 – John McCurdy 1852, McCurdy 1864 –
    reverse-route a short distance, to the right/southeast on the same south side of the Bullskin Run is:
  217. Balerain Osborne House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1860 – Balaam Osbourn 1852, Osbourn 1864
    – continue north, re-crossing to the north side of the Bullskin Run on to
    CR 25/4 Mill Lane to CR 25/Kabletown Road; turn right/southeast into Kabletown; on the right-hand side after a short distance and before CR 25/Kabletown Road re-crosses the Bullskin Run, in sequence are:
  218. Kabletown Resource 15
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – go a short distance, then the following are side-by-side on the right side of CR 25/Kabletown Road: 

    218a. Kabletown Resource 2
    Type: House Material: stone Date: c. 1840 (SKIP NEXT STRUCTURE) to:

    218b. Kabletown Resource 4
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1860 – go short distance to:

    218c. Kabletown Resource 5
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – to:

    218d. Kabletown Resource 6
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – to:

    218e. Kabletown Resource 7
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – continue south on CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn next turn left/east, just before crossing the Bullskin Run and following a sharp bend in CR 25/Kabletown Road, to:

  219. Kabletown Resource 8
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – Elijah Chamberlain Heirs 1852
    – reverse-route back to CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn left/south onto road, go a short distance, turn left/east on to Andrews Farm Road to:
  220. “Avonwood”
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – owned by J.C.R. Taylor 1852, Osburn 1864 – reverse-route, turn left/south on to CR 25/Kabletown Road, continue a short distance to the intersection for CR 25/5 Rippon/Meyerstown Road; at the southwest corner is:
  221. Joseph Myers House
    Type: House Material: stucco Date:c. 1850 – Joseph Myers 1852 –
    turn right/west onto 25/5 Rippon/Meyerstown Road, continue past a lane on the left/south side, continue to just before a ninety-degree bend in the road to the left/south, turn right up long lane on right-hand/north side of 25/5 Rippon/Meyerstown Road to:
  222. Eastwood
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1835 – John Humphreys 1852, Lock 1864
    reverse-route to 25/5 Rippon/Meyerstown Road, turn left/east to intersection with CR 25/Kabletown Road, on the far, northeast corner is:
  223. Meyerstown Rd Resource 5
    Type: House Material: frame Date:c. 1860 – P. Gorden 1852, 1864 –
    at the Meyerstown intersection, turn right/south on to CR 25/Kabletown Road, continue south on CR 25/Kabletown Road a short distance; the first lane on the west/right side is to:
  224. Site of a School
    1852, 1864 – continue south CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn right/west on to a lane to:
  225. Riggs-Stiles (Woodland)
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1840 – James R. Lewis 1852, Lewis 1864
    – continue on same farm lane due west a short distance to:
  226. Fischer Lewis House (Edgewood)
    Type: House Material: site Date:c. 1820 – Fischer Lewis 1852, Lewis 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn right/south on to CR 25/Kabletown Road from Riggs Stiles Farm; go a short distance, turn right/west on next road, called 25/6 Clipp Road; go west on 25/6 Clipp Road, past a lane to a farm on the left, go a short distance; before the intersection of 25/6 Clipp Road with CR 38 Smith Road, turn right/north on to a long lane; continue to the main house, to the right/east to:
  227. Riddle Log House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date:c. 1850 – Mrs. Margaret Riddle 1852, Riddle 1864
    – reverse-route to 25/6 Clipp Road, turn right/west, continue past a structure on the left/south side, continue a short distance; on the right/north side approaching the intersection with CR 38 Smith Road is:
  228. Oliver Cromwell House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1835 – Oliver Cromwell 1852, Cromwell 1864
    reverse-route on 25/6 Clipp Road to CR 25/Kabletown Road; turn right/south on CR 25/Kabletown Road, where the Long Marsh Run crosses CR 25/Kabletown Road, on the left/east side is:
  229. Opie Mill
    Type: Mill Material: site Date:c. 1830 – Heirome L. Opie 1852, Opie 1864
    – turn left/east on to CR 25/7 Ann Lewis Road; go east, to the first turn on the left/north side of CR 25/7 Ann Lewis Road is:
  230. Woodbyrne
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1805 – Heirome L. Opie 1852, Opie 1864
    – and nearby: 

    230a. Woodbyrne Quarter
    Type: Servant Quarter Material: brick Date:c. 1830 – Heirome L. Opie 1852, Opie 1864
    – continue east on CR 25/7 Ann Lewis Road, road turns left/north at the Shenandoah River, goes a short distance to:

  231. Lewis Mills
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date:c. 1830 – Dr. John H. Lewis Heirs 1852, Lewis 1864
    – on the opposite side of the Shenandoah River are: 

    231a. Rock Ferry
    Type: Ferry Material: stone Date:c. 1770 – and:

    231b. Ferryman’s House
    Type: House Material: foundation Date:c. 1820 – George Backhouse 1852, Backhouse 1864 – returning to the west side of the Shenandoah River, continue on CR 25/7 Ann Lewis Road north along the river, following it around a ninety-degree bend to the left/west and, after a short distance around a second ninety-degree bend to the right/north to:

  232. The Rocks Tenant House/Wormley Property
    Type: Tenant House Material: stone Date:c. 1800 – Dr. John H. Lewis Heirs 1852, Lewis 1864 – and, beside the tenant house to the north is: 

    232a. The Rocks/Ralph Wormley
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1780 – Dr. John H. Lewis Heirs 1852, Lewis 1864 – reverse-route on CR 25/7 Ann Lewis Road to CR 25/Kabletown Road, turn left/south on to CR 25/Kabletown Road; turn left/east on to the next lane, follow the long lane bending to the right/south, then bending in a ninety-degree turn to the right/west; go a short distance and the lane bends ninety-degrees to the left/south to (on the outside of the bend):

  233. Lewis Farm House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1840 – Mrs. Juliet A. Gorden 1852
    – reverse-route on the lane to CR 25/Kabletown Road; turn left/south on to
    CR 25/Kabletown Road; follow CR 25/Kabletown Road thru a near-ninety degree bend to the right/westward; at an intersection with SR 608 Kabletown Road, turning left/south in to Virginia, continue bearing right on a road that is CR 38/Smith Road; continue on CR 38/Smith Road; on the right/north side of CR 38/Smith Road are two Dri-Lake farm lanes with structures; to the near, northeast from Dri-lake farm in a small wooded area is:
  234. The Moorings
    Type: Farm House Material: site Date:c. 1800 – James B. Lewis 1852
    – continue west on CR 38/Smith Road; turn right/north on to a farm lane where CR 38/Smith Road bends slightly to the right/north; continue on the lane, on the left side of the lane is:
  235. Silver Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1850 – Mrs. Margaret Riddle 1852, Riddle 1864 – just beyond it is: 

    235a. Silver Spring Tenant House 1
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date:c. 1850 – Mrs. Margaret Riddle 1852, Riddle 1864 – at the northernmost end of the lane is:

    235b. Silver Spring Tenant House 2
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date:c. 1850 – Mrs. Margaret Riddle 1852, Riddle 1864 – reverse-route to CR 38/Smith Road, directly opposite Silver Spring’s lane, and facing is:

  236. Smith House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1850 – James M. McCurdy 1852, Smith 1864
    – continue west on CR 38/Smith Road; at the intersection with 25/6 Clipp Road on the right/east side, continue around a ninety- degree bend of CR 38/Smith Road to the west; go very short distance, on the right/north side of the road is:
  237. McPherson’s House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1785 – William McPherson’s heirs 1852, McPherson 1864 – just to the east of the house nearby is: 

    237a. McPherson’s Mill
    Type: Mill Material: site Date:c. 1785 – William McPherson’s heirs 1852, McPherson 1864 – to the north and further off of CR 38/Smith Road and behind McPherson’s is:

  238. Nimrod Anderson House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1810 – Nimrod Anderson 1852, Anderson 1864 – and, just northwest of the house is: 

    238a. Nimrod Anderson Farm Quarter
    Type: Quarter Material: stone Date:c. 1820 – Nimrod Anderson 1852, Shepherd 1864
    – continue west on CR 38/Smith Road, turn left/south on to a lane, located a short distance before the intersection of CR 38/Smith Road with Route 340, to:

  239. Olive Boy
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1858 – Arthur M. Allen 1852, Allen 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 38/Smith Road; continue left/west to Route 340, turn left/south on to Route 340; go a short distance, turn left/west on to a lane leading to (and located a short distance southwest from Olive Boy):
  240. Berryville Pike Resource 1
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date:c. 1860 – Dr. Richard S. Blackburn 1852, T. M. Isbell 1864 – turn left/south on to Route 340, continue south in to Va., past road on the left/east called Shepherd’s Mill Road, continue south on Route 340, go past Oakland Lane on the left/east; continue a short distance, turn right/north up a long lane, at a fork in the lane bear left/west to:
  241. Balclutha
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1850 – Wm F. Allen 1852, Allen 1864 (due east of brother, David Allen’s property in 1852) – (NOTE: in Clarke County, property of Col. Francis McCormick and Castleman’s Mill appear on 1852 and 1864 maps) –
    reverse-route on Route 340, continue north; at a minor intersection with CR 340/1 Dark Lane, turn left/west, continue west as Dark Lane becomes Franklintown; continue west past the right/north turn on to CR  19/1 Franklintown Road; continue west on CR 340/1 Franklintown, past Fairlane Drive on the right/north side, go past two more lanes on the right/north side, turn right north at the third, Boyer Lane; go a short distance on Boyer Lane, on the right/east side is:
  242. Full Circle Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date:c. 1860 – Nimrod Anderson, 1852, Anderson 1864
    – reverse-route, turn left/south on to Boyer Lane, turn left/east on to CR 340/1 Franklintown; turn left/north on to CR  19/1 Franklintown Road; just before and south of Franklintown Cemetery on the left/west side is:
  243. Payton Way Log House
    Type: House Material: log Date:c. 1860 – continue north through Franklintown on CR 19/1 Franklintown Road; at the next right/east turn, turn on to also CR  19/1 Franklintown Road (Scooter Lane); on the outside of a ninety-degree bend to the right/south in the road is:
  244. Berry Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1810 – Mrs. Patsy Davis 1852, Davis 1864
    – continue on CR 19/1 Franklintown Road, around its bend to the south, go a short distance, follow the road as it bends also ninety-degrees to the left/east, continue west to Route 340, cross railroad tracks, continue, turn left/north on to Route 340, continue a very short distance and turn right/east down a lane to:
  245. Glenwood
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1844 – Charles S. Taylor 1852, Frame 1864
    – to the northwest and a short distance from the main house is:
  246. Glenwood Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date:c. 1850 –  reverse-route to Route 340, turn right/north on to Route 340, past John’s Family Restaurant on the left/west side, turn right on to CR 25/5 Myerstown-Rippon Road, continue a short distance, past a left turn onto CR 21/1, on the left/north side of the road is:
  247. Meyerstown Rd Resource 3
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date:c. 1840 – Daniel Heflebower 1852, Heflebower 1864 – continue east on CR 25/5 Myerstown-Rippon Road to the next structure on the left/north side in a small wooded area:
  248. Wayside Cabin (Rippon)
    Type: Servants Quarters Material: log Date:c. 1820 – Daniel Heflebower 1852, Heflebower 1864 – immediately due west is: 

    248a. Wayside (Rippon)
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1820 – Daniel Heflebower 1864, Heflebower 1864 – reverse-route on to on CR 25/5 Myerstown-Rippon Road, continue a short distance, turn right/north on to CR 21/1, on the left/west side is:

  249. Rippon Resource 14
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – continue to intersection with Route 340; turn right/north on to Route 340, continue north a very short distance to the intersection with CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road; turn left/west on to CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road, go a short distance, turn left/south down lane to:
  250. Grantham-Larue House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1850 – James Grantham 1852, Grantham 1864
    – reverse-route on lane towards CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road; turn left/west on to CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road; continue past CR 13/2 on right/north side of  CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road, go a short distance, go past CR 19/1 Franklintown Road on the left/south side, continue west on CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road;
    after a slight bend northward in the road, on the left/south side of CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road is:
  251. Withers Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1910 – Gordon Pendleton 1852, Pendleton 1864 – (NOTE: Though dated later, this is the site of an earlier farm called Eastwood).
    – continue west on CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road; at the intersection with CR 1 & State Road 611, continue straight/west; on the left/south side of CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road and entered from a lane off CR 1 & State Road 611 is:
  252. Westwood
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1848 – Hugh Pendleton 1852, Pendleton 1864
    – continue straight/west on CR 19 Withers Larue Road; turning left/south, becoming VA State Road 640 in Virginia; down a lane on the left/south side of State Road 640, at the inside of a ninety-degree bend to the left/east in the lane is:
  253. (in Clarke County) Lang Sine
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1780 – Thos E. Nelson 1852, Blackburn 1864
    – reverse-route on CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road to the intersection with CR 1, turn left/north on to CR 1 Leetown Road, continue north past CR 1/14 Pack Horse Ln on the right/east hand side; turn left on to a short lane, on the left/west side is:
  254. Head Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date:c. 1800 – Edwin A. Riely’s heirs 1852, Riley 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 1 Leetown Road, go a short distance, crossing at the Bullskin Run South Fork, turn left/north, turn left/west down next lane to:
  255. Roxton
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1870 – John A. Thompson 1852   None 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road, to the intersection with Route 340 in Rippon; immediately west and before the Route 340 intersection and on the right/south side of CR 19 Withers-LaRue Road are:
  256. Rippon Resource 21
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1840 – S. T. Strain 1883
    – due east (after one, more recent structure) and on the southwest corner of the intersection is: 

    256a. Rippon Resource 7
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – S. T. Strain 1883 –
    across Route 340, opposite from the previous structure is:

    256b. Rippon Resource 13
    Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Dr. Osburn 1883 – turn left/north on to Route 340; continue north on Route 340 past CR 19/1 Franklintown Road on the left/west side; make the next right/east turn on to a lane to:

  257. Rippon Resource 1 (School)
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – Barney Ott 1852 – continue north on Route
    340, continue a short distance, on the right/east side on a short lane is:
  258. Oak Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1860 – continue north on Route 340, continue a short distance, turn at the next left/west side lane on to CR 19 to:
  259. Ripon Lodge
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:1833 – Wm Turner 1852, Turner 1864 –
    reverse-route to Route 340, turn left/north and continue north of the post office on the right/east side of Route 340; just after Route 340 bends slightly to the left/west side on the right/east side is:
  260. Byrdland Tenant House 3
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date:c. 1840 – John A. Lock 1852, Lock 1864
    – continue a very short distance on Route 340 and turn right/east on to a lane; continue to where the lane turns ninety-degrees to the right/south, and, soon, another ninety-degrees to the left/ east, on the left/north side of the lane is: 

    260a. Byrdland
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1845 – John A. Lock 1852, Lock 1864
    – further to the east of the lane a short distance is:

    260b. Byrdland Tenant House 2
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date:c. 1840 – John A. Lock 1852, Lock 1864
    – reverse-route on the lane; near and before the lane’s Route 340 intersection, another lane turns right/north a short distance to:

    260c. Wheatland Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date:c. 1845 – George W. Turner 1852, Turner 1864
    – reverse route on the lane, on to the original lane and, then, to the Route 340 intersection, turn right/north; cross the Bullskin Run, at the next intersection with Route 340, turn right/east on to Rocheleu Lane, continue east; the first structure on right/south side is:

  261. Straithmore Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: brick Date:c. 1830 – Thaddeus Baney 1862, Baney 1864
    – continue a short distance east on Rocheleu Lane; on the same right/south side, on the same side as the Bullskin Run, is: 

    261a. Ark Mill
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date:c. 1820 – Thaddeus Baney 1852, Baney 1864
    – continue on Rocheleu Lane further east; at the terminus of Rocheleu Lane, to the left/north side is:

    261b. Straithmore
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1831 Straith 1864, Meyer’s heirs 1862 –
    reverse-route to Route 340, turn right/north, go past two side lanes off the left/west side of Route 340, (Route 340 changes from a two-lane road to a four-lane divided highway);  continue a short distance, turn right/east on to CR 340/3 Roper North Fork Road, follow CR 340/3 Roper North Fork Road as its bends ninety degrees to the east; when the road makes a fork with CR 340/3 Roper North Fork Road the left/north fork, take the other fork on the right/south side to:

  262. Meadow Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1830 – James Roper 1852, Roper 1864
    – reverse-route on CR 340/3 Roper North Fork Road to Route 340, turn right/north, go a short distance, turn right/east on to CR 340/3, go a short distance to a T-intersection; the road forks a short distance to the right/south to Cloverdale subdivision; take the other fork – turn left/north, continue a short distance to:
  263. Starsign Lane House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1860 {NOTE: Not on maps from 1852, 1864, but on map of 1883} – reverse-route to Route 340, turn left/south; continue a short distance; cross over the Bullskin Run, turn right/west on to CR 340/3 Roper North Fork Road, go very short distance, turn right/north on to lane, follow the lane as it bends ninety degrees to the right/north, turn left/west, going along the south side of the Bullskin Run to:
  264. Beverley
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1800 – Mrs. Frances P. Frame 1852, Frame 1864 – reverse-route to Route 340, turn right/south, continue past animal adoption center and diner, both on the right/west side, and further, turn right/west on to CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, go past lane on the right/north side, past Beulah Church, and turn up the next lane to:
  265. Grubb Farm/Brook Manor
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date:c. 1770 – Wm Lock 1862, Porter 1864
    – behind the house is the site of a Quaker Meeting House and graveyard;
    reverse-route on the lane to CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, turn right/west on CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, the road bends to the left/south over the Bullskin Run; and to the right/north side of the Bullskin Run is:
  266. Haines Merchant Mill
    Type: Mill Material: frame Date:c. 1820 – Haines 1864 – continue west on CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, re-cross the Bullskin Run; turn right/north on to a lane to:
  267. Sunnyside (Wheatland)
    Type: Farm House Material: stucco Date:c. 1850 – reverse-route on CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, turn right/west, go a very short distance, turn left/south onto a lane leading south past Caleb Burns’ house to:
  268. John Ariss House/Locust Grove
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1790 – Hunter 1864 – reverse-route past Caleb Burns’ house to CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, turn left /west on to CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, continue west, turn left/south at the next lane to:
  269. Wheatland West
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – Dovenberger 1864, Dr. Wm Keerl’s heirs 1862 – reverse-route on the lane from Wheatland West northward; before reaching CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, turn left/west on to a lane, to become facing CR 13/2 Lloyd Road; across the road, straight ahead and facing, is a lane to:
  270. Belleview
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Slifer 1864 – reverse-route on the lane to CR 13/2 Lloyd Road, turn left/north, go past intersection with CR 340/2 Wheatland Road, cross the Bullskin Run, at the next lane, to right/east side off CR 13/2 Lloyd Road is:
  271. Haines House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date :c. 1830 – Haines 1864 – reverse-route to CR 13/2 Lloyd Road, continue north on CR 13/2 Lloyd Road, follow CR 13/2 Lloyd Road as it bends to left/west; straight ahead, on the outside of the bend is:
  272. Fairfax Grant Stock Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1770 – Nathan Haines, 1862 – continue on CR 13/2 Lloyd Road, follow it around a ninety-degree bend to the left/west; then, after a very short distance, follow a ninety-degree bend to the right/north; continue very short distance, on  the left/west side, down a lane is:
  273. Cool Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: 1834 – Timberlake 1864 – further west and to the right/north is the main house: 

    273a. Cool Spring Stone House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1815 – Timberlake 1864, Thomas Griggs 1852 – reverse-route on the lane, turn left/north on to CR 13/2 Lloyd Road, at a T-intersection, turn left/west on to CR 13 Summit Point Road, drive past South Jefferson Elementary on the right/north and Hillbrook Inn on the left/south; at the next unpaved lane after Hillbrook entrance, turn left/southward, to:

  274. Rock Hall
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date :c. 1770 – Thomas Hite Willis 1852, Willis 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 13 Summit Point Road, turn left/west, continue west past one lane on the right/north side, turn right/north on to Washington Way;  continue on Washington Way a distance north past three roads on the left/west side, after the fourth intersecting road – Sulgrave Court on the right/east side – on the same side are:
  275. Willis House & John Brown Jailer’s House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1850 – to the immediate northeast is: 

    275a. Brown Jailer’s Cabin
    Type: House Material: log Date:c. 1850 – reverse-route on Washington Way, to CR 13 Summit Point Road; turn right/west, continue west to the next right/north side turn, turn on to the lane, go a distance, following around a ninety-degree bend to the left/west, continue a distance, on the left/south side is:

  276. Shenstone
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:1820 – reverse-route on the lane to CR 13 Summit Point Road, turn right/west continue a short distance, on the right/north side is:
  277. White House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1770 – Joseph Morrow 1852, Morrow 1864 –
    continue west on CR 13 Summit Point Road past  — on the right/north is:
  278. Mount Ellen
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1818 – Thomas West 1852 – reverse-route CR 13 Summit Point Road at Mt. Ellen; continue east, turn left/north on to CR 1/1 Shirley Road; continue north, past Mt. Pleasant Church and cemetery; on the right/east side of CR 1/1 Shirley Road is:
  279. West Shenstone
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: 1847 – Ambrose C. Timberlake 1852 called Edgefield, In 1852 Shenstone, directly east, owned by Thomas Lackland –
    continue a short distance north on CR 1/1 Shirley Road, on the left/west-hand side is:
  280. Monte View Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1860 – Jonathan Frazier 1852, Frazier 1883
    – continue north, past the next lane on the left/west, the second lane on the left/west side off CR 1/1 Shirley Road  is:
  281. Shirley Farm/Locust Grove
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: 1841 – Robt F. Shirley, 1852, Shirley 1864
    – opposite Shirley Farm, facing on the right/east side of CR 1/1 Shirley Road  and off the road is:
  282. Woodend
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Robert W. Baylor 1852, Baylor 1864
    – continue north on CR 1/1 Shirley Road, on the right/east side of the road is:
  283. Beckwith Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1850 – Dr. Sam Scollay 1852
    – continue north on CR 1/1 Shirley Road; to conclude at the T-intersection with Route 51.
    (The next route begins at Hardesty Road, south of Summit Point Raceway, going west to and including Middleway, returning west and including Summit Point and environs).
    Continue north CR 2 Hardesty Road, continue through a slight bend in road to the right/east, on the right/east side of CR 2 Hardesty Road is
  284. Summit Point Road Resource 10
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date:c. 1830 – Wm G. Hardesty 1852, Wm G. Hardesty 1864 – continue north on CR 2 Hardesty Road, on the right/east side of CR 2 Hardesty Road is:
  285. Jessie Harris House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – Mrs. Eliz. Smith’s heirs 1852, Mrs. Eliz. Smith’s heirs 1864 – (in 1890, at the entrance to road to Jamestown) – at the T-intersection of CR 2 Hardesty Road with CR 13 Summit Point Pike, turn left/west, continue a short distance; turn in to a lane, on right/north side, to:
  286. Aylmere
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1810 – Joseph Smith 1852, Smith 1864
    – reverse-route to CR 13 Summit Point Pike, continue west on CR 13 Summit Point Pike, continue southwest to the state line, turn right/north on to  CR 13/1 Swimley Road; continue north on CR 13/1 Swimley Road, turn left/west on to CR 1/12 Cherry Meade Road, at a 4-way intersection with CR 1/12 Cherry Meade and CR 1/11 Hinton Road on the northwest corner, is:
  287. Thomas Campbell House
    Type: Farm House/Tavern Material: log/frame Date: c.1786 – Thomas Campbell 1852, Thomas Campbell 1864 – continue straight on CR 1/12 Cherry Meade Rd., it becomes CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road; follow CR 1/8 old Brucetown around a ninety-degree bend to right/north; inside the angle is:
  288. Brucetown Road Resource 1
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – no structure 1852, 1864 maps –
    continue around the bend in CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road, turn on to the next lane on the left/west side to:
  289. Prospect Hall
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1805 – Peter Hunsicker’s heirs 1852, Peter Hunsicker’s heirs 1864 – reverse-route to CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road, turn left/north; make the next left/west turn toward the Opequon; on the left, south side, on the outside of a right/northward curve in the lane, is:
  290. Prospect Hall Quarters
    Type: Slave Quarters Material: log Date: c. 1805 – Peter Hunsicker’s heirs 1852, Peter Hunsicker’s heirs 1864 – continue north on the lane, follow the lane around a ninety- degree bend to the right/east, go a very short distance, the lane makes a second ninety- degree bend to the left/north; at a T-intersection, turn left/west to:
  291. Kingery House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date:c. 1815 – George Sharp & Wife 186?, Schwartz 1864 – reverse route, go due east, past the intersection with the previous Prospect Hall lane, to a T-intersection with CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road, turn left/north on to
    CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road; continue north, turn down the second lane on the left/west side to:
  292. Sevens Thorpe
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date:c. 1850 – Richard Timberlake 1864, Richard Timberlake 1852 – reverse-route to CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road, turn left/north, continue north a short distance, turn on to the next lane on the right/east side to:
  293. Stone Fels
    Type: Farm House Material: frame/stone Date: 1836 – David Fry 1864, David Fry 1852
    – reverse-route back to CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road, turn right/north, cross Turkey Run, go past lane on the right/east side; then to where CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road makes a  ninety-degree bend to the right/east; near the outside of that bend is:
  294. Turkey Run Mill
    Type: Mill Material: site Date:c. 1850 – Thomas Watson 1864 – continue on CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road, going around a ninety-degree bend to the left/north and, shortly, a turn to the right/east into Middleway from the west to a four-way intersection of CR 1/8 old Brucetown Road and CR 1/16 King Street: on the southwest corner is:
  295. Middleway Resource 37
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1840 – on the southeast corner is:
  296. Middleway Resource 38
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1805 – due south from this structure on the same side is;
  297. Middleway Resource 36
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – on the intersection’s northeast corner is:
  298. Middleway Resource 20
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1820 – turn left/north onto CR 1/16 King Street; the second structure on the left/west side is:
  299. Middleway Resource 22
    Type: House Material: brick/log Date: c. 1830 – further north, nearby, and on the opposite right/east side CR 1/16 King Street is:
  300. Middleway Resource 21
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1830 –next two structures down on the same right/east side of CR 1/16 King Street:
  301. Middleway Resource 18
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – continuing north on CR 1/16 King Street, next, on the left/west side is:
  302. Middleway Resource 19
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1810 – continuing north on CR 1/16 King Street, next, on right/east side is:
  303. Middleway Resource 17
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – continuing north on CR 1/16 King Street, next, on right/east side is:
  304. Middleway Resource 16
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – at this intersection with CR 1/16 King Street and CR 1/7 Old Middleway Road, turn right/east; continue one block east to the intersection of CR 1/7 Old Middleway Road and CR 1 Queen Street; at the southwest corner of the intersection of 1/7 Old Middleway Road and CR 1 Queen Street, is:
  305. Middleway Resource 14
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1840 – two consecutive structures on the northwest corner are:
  306. Middleway Resource 6
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1810 – and -
  307. Middleway Resource 15
    Type: Garage Material: frame/stone Date: c. 1820 – turn right/south down CR 1 (main street) of Middleway: the second closest house on the right/west side is:
  308. Middleway Resource 45
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1820 – continuing south on CR 1 Queen  Street,
    the next five structures on the right/west side of CR 1 Queen  Street are:
  309. Middleway Resource 29
    Type: house Material: log Date: c. 1810
  310. Middleway Resource 30
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1830
  311. Middleway Resource 31
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1820
  312. Middleway Resource 32
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1820
  313. Middleway Resource 33
    Type: House Material: log/stone Date: c. 1820 – continuing southward on just the right/west side of CR 1 Queen Street, at the southwest corner of CR 1 Queen Street and CR 1/8 Brucetown Road is:
  314. Middleway Resource 4
    Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – continuing south, on the right/west side of street, in the halfway point of the block and at Turkey Run is:
  315. Middleway Resource 40
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1800 – continuing and crossing to the south side of Turkey Run, on the northwest corner of CR 1 Queen Street and South Street is:
  316. Middleway Resource 23
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1810 – turn right/west on to South Street to intersection of South Street with CR 1/16 King Street St.; on the northeast corner is:
  317. Middleway Resource 25
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – reverse-route at South Street, to continue north on CR 1 Queen Street, to include houses just on the right/east side of CR 1 Queen  Street; at the southeast corner of CR 1 Queen Street and  East Street (before CR 1/8-old Brucetown Road cross-street with CR 1 Queen Street) is:
  318. Middleway Resource 5
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1800 – continue north on CR 1 Queen Street, mid-block on the right/east side, toward the intersection with CR 1/8 Brucetown Road, is:
  319. Middleway Resource 1
    Type: House Material: brick/frame Date: c. 1820 – continue north on CR 1 Queen Street; at the northeast corner of CR 1 Queen  Street and CR 1/8 Brucetown Road is:
  320. Middleway Resource 2
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1800 – continue north on CR 1 Queen Street, the next structure on right/east side, after CR 1/Brucetown Road intersection, is:
  321. Middleway Resource 3
    Type: House Material: stone Date: c. 1810 – continue north on CR 1 Queen Street; the next structure on right/east side after CR 1/Brucetown Road intersection, is:
  322. Middleway Resource 41
    Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1830 – continue north on CR 1 Queen Street; the next structure on right/east side after CR 1/Brucetown Road intersection, is:
  323. Middleway Resource 42
    Type: House Material: brick/log Date: c. 1810 – continue north on CR 1 Queen Street from Middleway, go through the intersection with CR 1/7 old Middleway Road, continue north; immediately north on the right/east side along the road, past the turn to the left/west on to CR 1/16 Cherry Hill Drive, is:
  324. Middleway Resource 46
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – continue north on CR 1 Queen Street, past a lane on the left/west side, follow slight bend to the right/east, go a short distance, on the right/east side is:
  325. Leetown Rd Resource 3
    Type: House Material: log Date:c. 1850 – and nearby and due north on the same right/east side of CR 1 Queen Street is:
  326. Leetown Rd Resource 2
    Type: House Material: frame Date:c. 1860 –  reverse-route on CR 1 Queen Street, continue south to the intersection with CR 1/16 Cherry Hill Drive, on the southwest corner, is:
  327. Middleway Resource 45
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1820 – at the intersection of CR 1 Queen Street and CR 1/7 old Middleway Road, turn left/east, turn the next right/south on to CR 1/8 East (Church) street; on the left/east side is:
  328. Middleway Resource 12
    Type: Masonic Hall Material: brick Date: 1851 – on right/east side, opposite the Masonic Hall is:
  329. Middleway Resource 11
    Type: Church Material: brick Date: c. 1830 (Grace) – continue south; on the right/west side at the northwest corner of East/Church street and CR 1/8 Brucetown Road, is:
  330. Middleway Resource 10
    Type: House Material: log/brick Date: c. 1830 – continue south on East/Church street, opposite and facing the intersection of East/Church Street and CR 1/8 Brucetown Road is:
  331. Episcopal Church
    Type: Church Material: brick Date: 1851 – continue south, on east/left-hand side is:
  332. Middleway Resource 9
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – continue south, on left/east side is:
  333. Middleway Resource 7
    Type: House Material: stone/frame Date: c. 1830 – reverse-route, go north on East/Church streets, turn left/west on to CR 1/8 Brucetown Road; turn left/south on to CR 1 Queen Street to include houses from that point and southward, (then westward to the RR tracks at Summit Point); continue south on CR 1 Queen Street, (becomes CR 1 Leetown Road), cross over Turkey Run, continue south on CR 1 Leetown Road, turn left/east, down the first long lane is:
  334. Fairview (Middleway)
    Type: Farm House Material: log/frame Date: c. 1815 Thomas Watson 1852, Thomas Watson 1864 – reverse route to CR 1, turn left/south; go a short distance,
    on the west side of CR 1 is:
  335. J. E. Smith House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Thomas Watson 1864, Jno F. Smith 1883 – continue south on CR 1, crossing over Turkey Run; continue south a short distance, turn left/east on to lane that, part-way, re-crosses Turkey Run to:
  336. Duke Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: log/frame Date: c. 1850 – David Fry 1852, David Fry 1864
    No house 1852 and 1864  maps – reverse-route to CR 1, continue south; at next lane turn left/east, lane has ninety-degree bend to the right/south to:
  337. South Shirleyn
    Type: Farm House Material: frame/log Date: c. 1850 – Mrs. Rebecca Wigginton 1852, Mrs. Rebecca Wigginton 1864 – No house 1852, 1864 maps – reverse-route to CR 1, turn left/south past Abelow Farms on the right/west side; continue south on CR 1, to the next lane on the left/east side, turn left/east, go down a lane, the first structure on the south/right-hand side is:
  338. Macoughtry House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1830 – Lewis Fry 1852, Lewis Fry 1864 –
    continue to the end of the lane to:
  339. Macoughtry Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: frame Date: c. 1870 – Lewis Fry 1852, Lewis Fry 1864 –
    reverse-route to CR 1, turn left/south, follow a bend in the road eastward then westward, continue towards the intersection of CR 1 with Swimley Road;  but before that, turn right/west on to a lane, on the lane’s right/north side is:
  340. Fairview (Four Corners)
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – reverse-route to CR 1, turn right/south; at CR 1 intersection with CR 13/1 Swimley Road, turn right/west, go a short distance, turn left/south into:
  341. Bear Garden
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1836 – Daniel Fry’s heirs 1852 –
    reverse route back to Swimley CR 13/1, go right/east on CR 1; go past intersection with CR 1 to Middleway; continue on CR 1 Leetown Road to Summit Point; continue east on CR 1 Leetown Road; turn left/north on to SR 1/13 Childs South Road; continue north past the first lane on right/east side, continue a short distance; turn left/west onto a lane to:
  342. Kitty Fry Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1800 – Catherine Fry 1852, Fry 1864 –
    reverse-route to CR 1 Leetown Rd, turn left/east, continue; before a right/southward bend in CR 1, on the left/north side, turn left/north on lane to:
  343. Roberts Farm (Happy Retreat?)
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – James L. Griggs 1852, 1864 –
    Reverse-route, continue on CR 1; road bends from eastward to southbound to Summit Point; cross the rr track at Summit Point; turn right/south on to Summit Point Pike, turn right/west on to Hawthorne Avenue, continue west, after the Pleasant Valley cross street, continue to a fork in the road and take the right fork to:
  344. Hawthorne
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1810 – John A. Thompson 1852, 1864 –
    reverse-route to Hawthorne/Summit Point Pike, the house on northeast corner of that intersection is:
  345. Summit Point Resource 13
    Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – continue south on CR 13 Summit Point Pike; go past Thompson Ave, go past a lane on the right/east side of CR 13 Summit Point Pike; before a ninety-degree bend in the road to the right/west, turn right/west on to a lane marked by a house just before and a house just after the entrance to the lane, to:
  346. Wash Valley
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1790 – John A. Thompson 1852 –
    reverse route to CR 13 Summit Point Pike, turn right/south, follow the pike around the bend turning west, turn in to the Summit Point Raceway site, drive to the rear to:
  347. Allemong House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: 1830 – Amos Janney 1852, Amos Janney 1864
    – reverse-route to entrance of raceway, turn right/east on to Summit Point Pike toward Summit Point to intersection with railroad track.
    This concludes the description of home sites and churches that covers Middleway, Summit Point environs to the Opequon, the Va. state line, south of Route 51, and Shirley road to the east, including Mt Ellen.
    This route begins at the intersection of Route 51 with CR 1/Route 480, covers sites northward to the CR 1/Route 480 intersection with Leetown Pike, and roads off CR 1/Route 480.
    From the intersection of CR 1/Route 480 and Route 51, continue north on CR 1; go past six lanes on the right/east side, just after the turn on the left/west side on to CR 1/6 Harry Shirley Road, to turn right/east to:
  348. Wilson House
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – James Shirley’s Heirs, 1852, Rev. J. Porter 1883 (small lot north of Scollay, same, right/east side of CR 1) – reverse-route to CR 1, continue north on CR 1, on the right/east side, just before a turn to the right/east is:
  349. Higgs House
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1850, not shown 1852, 1864 – Higgs 1883 (very small lot, right along the road) – opposite the Higgs structure, on the left/west side of CR 1, slightly to the south and up a long lane is:
  350. Cedar Lane
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – John F. Shaull 1852, Shaull 1864, Shaull 1883 – reverse-route, continue north on CR 1 a short distance, turn left/west up a lane to:
  351. Green Spring
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1815 – John Dalgarn Heirs 1852, Dalgarn 1864 – to the northwest from Green Spring in a wooded area and a short distance is:
  352. Van Metre Farm
    Type: House Ruin Material: stone Date: 1816 – Nicholas Shaull 1852, Shaull 1864
    reverse-route to CR 1, continue north, left/west on to CR 4/1 Archer Road, turn left/west on to CR 1/6 Wide Horizon Blvd., continue west, at a fork in the road, bear left/south on to CR 1/6 Harry Shirley Road; go a short distance, as CR 1/6 Harry Shirley Road bends to the right/west, there is, on the outside of the bend, an unpaved approach to the south to:
  353. Round Top/Brown Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1815 – James W. Grantham 1852, Grantham 1864, Peter Bowers 1883 – reverse-route to CR 1, turn left/north continue north on CR 1; go a short distance, opposite the next lane on the left/west side but to the east and a distance from the road with little access to it is:
  354. Shirley Ruin
    Type: Archeological Site Material: site Date: c. 1820 – Thomas L. Shirley 1852, Shirley 1864 – continue north on CR 1; past lane to the left/west, the next right/east turn goes to:
  355. Beall Heirs House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: 1828 – Daniel Wright 1852, Wright 1864
    – continue north on CR 1, turn right/east, approaching the intersection of CR 1 with CR 4/1 Sulphur Springs Road is:
  356. Brener/Sites House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1820 – Jacob Homar’s Heirs 1852, 1883
    – turn left/west on to CR 4/1 Sulphur Springs Rd.; continue west, past the right/north side turn on to CR 4/2 Egypt, just before CR 4/1 Archer Road, on the left/south side and also on the left/south side is:
  357. Jefferson Johns House
    Type: Farm House Material: log/frame Date: c. 1830 – Jefferson Johns 1852, “John” 1864
    – continue west on CR 4/1 Sulphur Springs Rd.; just before the Opequon on the left/south side is Leathers Lane, turn in to:
  358. Elmwood on the Opequon
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – Anthony Kennedy 1852, Kennedy 1864 –
    reverse-route on CR 4/1 Sulphur Springs Rd., go very short distance, turn left/north on to CR 1/1 Bowers Road, continue north on CR 1/1 Bowers Road to lane, turn right/east to:
  359. The Bower
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1800 – Adam S. Dandridge 1852, Dandridge 1864 – nearby and further north is:
  360. The Bower Tenant 1
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – Adam S. Dandridge 1852, Dandridge 1864 – adjacent to the previous structure and further north is:
  361. The Bower Tenant 2
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – Adam S. Dandridge 1852, Dandridge 1864 – reverse-route to CR 1/1 Bowers Road, continue north on CR 1/1 Bowers Road, follow the road around a ninety-degree bend to the right/east, away from the Opequon, go a short distance, follow CR 1/1 Bowers Road around a second ninety-degree bend to the left/north; inside the angle created by the bend in CR 1/1 Bowers Road on the left/north side in a wooded area is:
  362. Hopewell Mills
    Type: Mill Material: site Date: c. 1820 – Wm Robert’s Heirs 1852 (Saw mill),
    Roberts 1864 – at the next intersection, turn to the right/east on to CR 1/1 Bowers Road, go to first turn on the left/north side to:
  363. E. R. Johnson House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – Samuel Roberts Heirs 1852, Roberts 1864 – reverse-route Bowers Road, Sulphur Springs Road to the intersection of Sulphur Springs Road and CR 1; turn left/north on to CR 1, on the left/west side is:
  364. Prato Rio
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1775 – Thomas Watson 1852, Watson 1864
    – reverse-route on CR 1, continue south on CR 1; at the intersection with Route 51, turn right/west on to Route 51; go west past No Name Lane on the right/north side, continue to Opequon Drive, go to the second turn on the left/south side to:
  365. Rees-Daniels House
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1770 – George W. Tabb (Fairview) 1852, Tabb 1864 – reverse-route, continue northwest on Opequon Drive; turn right/north at the next turn on the right/north side – also Opequon Drive; continue a short distance to a T-intersection, turn left/west on to Hidden Hollow Drive, follow Hidden Hollow Drive around a ninety-degree bend to the right/north; continue north a distance, follow Hidden Hollow Drive around a bend to the right/east; off the road to the left/west in a wooded area along the Opequon and generally inaccessible is:
  366. Hidden River Mill House
    Type: Mill House Material: stone Date: c. 1815 – NOTE: no structure there in 1852, 1864 or 1883 – but structure due north along the Opequon: Willis 1864,  Johnson 1883
    – reverse-route to Route 51, turn left/east on to Route 51; go past the intersection with CR 1, go past the merging of Route 51 with Old Middleway Pike on the right/south; at the third right/south turn, “Russell’s Trailer Court,” turn to:
  367. Meadow Green House
    Type: Farm House Material: log/block Date: 1815/49 – John H. Smith 1852, Smith 1864 –
    reverse-route to Route 51, continue east; turn right/south on to CR 1/13 South Childs Road, at Willow Well Lane on the right/east side, due east at a generally inaccessible location is the:
  368. Old Grantham Place
    Type: House Site Material: site Date: c. 1810 – James Grantham 1852, Grantham 1864
    nearby is:
  369. Willow Well
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – reverse-route to Route 51, turn right/east on to Route 51, just before the intersection of Route 51 with CR 1/1 Shirley Road is:
  370. Windswept
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – continue east on Route 51, go past CR 6 Darke Lane on the left/north, go a very short distance, turn right/south on to CR 51/1 Earle Road; on the immediate right/west side along Route 51 is:
  371. Oakland
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – William Brown 1852 –
    continue south on CR 51/1 Earle Road; at the railroad track, due east and on the south side of the tracks and near a pond is:
  372. William Cameron House
    Type: Mill House Material: stone Date: 1829 – Andrew Aldridge 1852, Aldridge 1864
    – nearby and northeast is:
  373. Cameron’s Depot
    Type: Railroad Depot Material: site Date: c. 1835 – Andrew Aldridge 1852, Aldridge 1864 – continue south on CR 51/1 Earle Road; on the right/west side facing Sulgrave Court opposite is:
  374. Richwood Hall
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1825 – John R. Flagg 1852, Flagg 1864
    – from CR 51/1 Earle Road in front of Richwood Hall, turn left/east on to Sulgrave Court to:
  375. Sulgrave
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Miss Anna S. Washington 1852
    – reverse-route to CR 51/1 Earle Road, on the right/west side is:
  376. Cedar Lawn Ruin
    Type: House Ruin Material: stone Date: c. 1800 – John T. A. Washington’s heirs 1852
    – further south on the same right/west side is:
  377. Cedar Lawn
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1825 – John T. A. Washington’s heirs 1852
    – continue south, follow a ninety degree bend to the left/east, go a short distance, follow a ninety-degree bend to the right/south on CR 51/1 Earle Road; go to the second lane on the right/west side to:
  378. Anna’s Wood
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1845 – Thos. B. Washington 1852,  Washington 1864, Thos B. Washington 1862 – (NOTE: no structure on this property in mentioned maps; refers to 1883 map owner, Anna Ewing). opposite/facing Anna’s Wood lane, down a lane on the east side of CR 51/1  is:
  379. Rich Woods Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1800 – Mrs. Hannah L. Alexander 1852
    – reverse-route to Route 51, turn right/east on to Route 51; the first lane on the right/south side is:
  380. Caledonia
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1815 – Andrew Aldridge 1852, Andrew Aldridge 1864 – continue east on Route 51; on the right/south side is:
  381. Harewood
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: 1770 – Louisa Washington 1852, Washington 1864 – south east from the main house is:
  382. Harewood Ruin
    Type: Servant’s Quarters Material: stone Date: c. 1790 – Louisa Washington 1852, Washington 1864 – continue on Route 51 east; go a short distance, on the left/north side
    just before Ambler Road is property owned by George L. Washington, turn left/north on to Ambler Road, on the right/east side in a wooded area is:
  383. Sunnyside
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1825 – Col. Braxton Davenport 1852
    – continue north on Ambler Road, north of Declaration Drive on the left/west side, turn left/west on to a long lane, lane bends ninety degrees to the right/north, on the outside of the bend is:
  384. Barleywood
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1843 – William T. Washington 1852
    – reverse-route to Ambler Road to Route 51, opposite/facing Ambler Road on Route 51 on the right/south side of Route 51 is:
  385. Bellevue
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – Col. Braxton Davenport 1852, Col. Braxton Davenport 1862, Henry Bedinger Davenport 1883 – continue east on Route 51, past Tuscawilla Hills subdivision on the right/south side, turn left/north down the next lane called Piedmont Drive; on the left/west side is a ruin:
  386. St. George’s Chapel
    Type: Church Material: stone Date: 1771 – Dr John Briscoe heirs 1852, Briscoe 1864
    – at the easternmost terminus of Piedmont Drive is:
  387. Piedmont
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1786 – Dr John Briscoe heirs 1852, Briscoe 1864
    – and the older structure, Quarry Banks, nearby; reverse-route to Route 51, turn left/east onto Route 51, go a sort distance to next property:
  388. Altona
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1832 – Col. Braxton Davenport 1852 –
    go in to Charles Town and Ranson, go north on CR 115/9 N. Mildred St., turn left/west on to Cranes Lane; continue west on Cranes Lane until it leaves Ranson; at the first turn, turn left/south on to N. Water Street, go a distance; on the right/west side just before a rotary is:
  389. Rosemont
    Type: House Material: brick Date: c. 1850 – James Wysong 1852, Wysong 1864 –
    – reverse-route on N. Water Street, turn left/west onto Cranes Lane, continue to the next lane on the left/south side, turn in to:
  390. Mt. Pleasant (immediately north of Altona)
    Samuel Wright 1852, Wright 1864, Annie Beckham 1883 – reverse-route to Cranes Lane, follow Cranes Lane around a ninety-degree bend to the right/north (property on the 1852 site of “Joseph Crane’s heirs” is inside the bend on the right/north side); continue on Cranes Lane due north, past a left/west turn to Cranes Lane (to the 1852 site of a structure of James Wysong); at the end of the driven lane is:
  391. Elmwood (Evitt’s Run)(Rural Retreat)
    Type: House Material: stone: Miss Hannah Hurst 1852, Wysong 1864.
    This concludes a survey of 1860 structures on CR 1 between Middleway and Leetown, and period properties from the Opequon to the railroad track crossing on Route 51 at the edge of Charles Town, including those off Route 51 to the north on Cranes Lane.
    The next route begins at Lloyd Road’s intersection with Summit Point Road.
    From CR 13/2 Lloyd Road, continue north on CR 13 Summit Point Road;
    continue east, past intersection on left/west with Earle Road; turn next right/south in to subdivision, turn right/east on to Thoroughbred Dr.; second or third to last house on the right hand/north side is:
  392. Balsbaugh House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1825 – Jane C. Washington 1852 –
    reverse-route in the subdivision back to CR 13 Summit Point Road, turn left/west, return to intersection of Washington Way/Pembroke Way with CR 13/3 Huyette Road (Huyett), intersection;  turn left/east on to CR 13/3 Huyette Road (Huyett), the first house on the right/south corner is:
  393. Mary Anderson House
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – Jane C. Washington 1852 – continue east on CR 13/3 Huyette Road (Huyett), past two roads  named Apple Blossom Lane, to, on the right/south side:
  394. Blakeley
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1820 – Jane C. Washington 1852, Washington 1864 – and adjacent:
  395. Blakeley Quarter
    Type: Quarter Material: brick Date: c. 1830 – Jane C. Washington 1852, Washington 1864 – turn left/north onto lane leading to Clay Mont, go past a single-story house on the right, continue to a point where the road bends to the left/west; at the next five-way intersection, turn right/east; continue on this lane, turn at next lane on right/south side to:
  396. “Claymount” (Clay Mont) Resource 1
    Type: Overseer’s House Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – Thomas Blackburn Washington 1852, Washington 1864 – reverse-route to the five-way intersection, turn a soft forty-five degree left/west turn towards the main house which is:
  397. “Claymount”  (Clay Mont) Court
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1820  – Thomas Blackburn Washington 1852, Washington 1864 – reverse-route to five-way intersection, bear right/south to CR 13/3 Huyette Road (Huyett); turn left/east on CR 13/3 Huyette Road (Huyett); continue past Washington High School on the left/north to the intersection of CR 13/3 Huyette Road (Huyett), with Augustine Ave.; turn left/straight on to Augustine Avenue passing before Huntfield on the left/west side; continue on Augustine Avenue to a left/west turn just before Page Jackson School; turn on to the lane, continue west; on the right/north side is:
  398. Gibsontown Church Site
    Type: Church Material: site Date: c. 1850  – reverse-route to Augustine Avenue, turn left/north onto Augustine Ave; continue north to the next right/east turn to:
  399. Vinton
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Robert Y. Jacks 1852
    – to the northeast from the main house is: 

    399a. Vinton Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – Robert Y. Jacks 1852 – reverse-route to Augustine Ave.  turn right/north to the third,  right hand/east turn to:

  400. Cassilis
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1834 – Andrew Kennedy 1852, Kennedy 1864
    – reverse-route to Augustine Ave. turn right/north to the second left hand/west (south and beside a small pond) turn to:
  401. The Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: frame/brick Date: c. 1820 – James L. Ranson 1852
    – continue (en route to Jefferson Ave.) to after the shopping center on the left/west side of Augustine Avenue, turn right on to Mordington Ave; continue on Mordington Ave., go past the Jefferson County Board of Education on the right side, continue straight to a stop sign with Happy Retreat on the right/south side. continue straight to a T-intersection with Mordington Ave. and South George Street/Route 9, turn right/east; continue, go a short distance; at the 7-11 Store, turn left/west on to Jefferson Ave.; continue on Jefferson Ave., go past Hale St. on the right; go through Forrest Ave.; turn right/east on to Euclid Ave., go a short distance; at a  T-intersection, turn right; go a short distance, on the left side, turn left, go a very short distance, turn right down a lane to:
  402. Belvedere
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1825 – Wm Tate’s Heirs 1852, Tate 1864 (two structures on same property) – reverse-route back to Jefferson Ave; turn left on to CR 115/9 S. George Street, go east to the intersection with CR 19 Kabletown Road. 

    The next route begins there; goes to the southernmost location of Mission Road on the Mountain, proceeds north; begins again on the west side of the Shenandoah River at CR 19  Kabletown Road and Bloomery Road, going north.
    This concludes a route of homes from the Lloyd Road/Summit Point intersection including Balsbaugh off of Summit Point Road near Earle Road, Huyett Road, Augustine Ave to Evitts Run at the home called The Hill; and off Jefferson Ave and Euclid Ave, to Belvedere.

    This route begins at the southern most point on the east side of the community on The Mountain, just north of the County Line with Virginia. It continues north to Route 9, goes to the River, crosses into the western portion of Jefferson County; structures to the north of Route 9 along the river and one structure on Route slightly further west are also included. – On the east side of the Shenandoah River and southeast of the terminus of Mission Road is:

  403. Popkins Homeplace
    Type: House Material: site Date: c. 1850 – continue due north, go a short distance, to:
  404. Cubbage Mill
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – Col J. W. Ware 1852 – continue north a short distance, east of southernmost portion of CR 9/5 Mission Road, and east of lake is:
  405. Ainsworth Homeplace
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1830 – due west to the Shenandoah River and slightly south is:
  406. West Mt. Gilead
    Type: Site Material: ferry Date: c. 1830 – Judge Richard E. Parker’s Heirs 1852, east side
    continue north on CR 9/5 Mission Road, south of Hog Run, on the right/east side is:
  407. Christ Church
    Type: Church Material: stone Date: c. 1850 – Store Samuel Parmer 1852 –
    on the east side of Shenandoah River, north of Hog Run and reached from the north on CR 9/10 Ann Lewis E.; (continue north on CR 9/5 Mission Road, turn left/west on to CR 9/10 Ann Lewis E.;  after going past a right/north turn lane, follow CR 9/10 Ann Lewis Road/Burris Dr. around a ninety-degree bend in the road to the southwest, continue south; on the right/west, river side is:
  408. Grays Ferry
    Type: Ferry Material: site – James Roper 1852 – reverse-route back to CR 9/5 Mission Road, continue north on CR 9/5 Mission Road, in the Shannondale Springs Wildlife Management Area West; along the river and opposite Jenkins, Kable, Johnson factory on the east side of the river is:
  409. Shannondale Ore Banks
    Type: Ore Banks Material: site Date: c. 1850 – Charles Brooke 1852 – and, nearby and to the northwest is:
  410. Gregory’s Ford
    Type: Ford Material: site Date: c. 1865 – continue north on CR 9/5 Mission Road, turn left on to Riverside Drive to:
  411. Jonah Walraven’s Saw Mill
    Type: Saw Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1850 – Jonah Walraven 1852, up river from a dam; (NOTE: opposite, on the west side of the river is Mt. Hammond Lane); a short distance down river going around a bend to the left/south on the east side of the river is the site of:
  412. Shannondale Springs
    Type: Hotel Material: site Date: c. 1820 – Shannondale Springs Company 1852
    – reverse-route back to CR 9/5 Mission Road, at the intersection and inside of the fork of Riverside Drive and CR 9/5 Mission Road are: 

    413a. Iron Master’s Quarters
    Type: Furnace Office Material: log Date: c. 1840 – and

    413b. Shannondale Furnace
    Type: Iron Furnace Material: stone Date: c. 1840
    turn left/north on to CR 9/5 Mission Road, continue north, on the west side of the Shenandoah River is:

  413. Hammond’s Ferry
    Type: Ferry Material: site Date: c. 1780 – opposite land on the east side owned by Jane C. Washington 1852 – continue on CR 9/5 Mission Road to the intersection with Route 9; on the left/west side is the Community Center, previously:
  414. Industrial Hall
    Type: House Material: stone Date: c. 1850 – School 1852? – turn left/west on to Route 9, continue west, on the downhill of Route 9 on the right/north side is:
  415. Shenandoah Oaks
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – William Little’s Heirs 1852 –
    continue west to the Shenandoah River, cross the river; continue west, past two turns to the right/north; the third turn on the left/south is to:
  416. Craighill House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1830 – reverse-route and go east on Route 9; turn left/north on to CR 27 Bloomery Road at the river, go a very short distance, on the left/west side of CR 27 Bloomery Road is:
  417. Shenandoah Mining Co. House
    Type: House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – verynearby and due south is:
  418. Vestal’s Iron Works
    Type: Iron Furnace Material: stone Date: c. 1742 – continue north on CR 27 Bloomery Road, go past about six lanes on the west side, continue past a wooded area; as CR 27 Bloomery Road bends slightly to the right/east and land becomes cleared on the left side, in a wooded area is:
  419. Riverside
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1825 – continue north a short distance on CR 27 Bloomery Road, in a cleared area, turn left/west on to a lane to:
  420. Allemont
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1825 – reverse-route to CR 27 Bloomery Road, continue north, as a wooded area develops on the left and CR 27 Bloomery Road approaches a ninety-degree bend to the left/west, within the angle of the bend in the wooded area are:
  421. Viand Cottage
    Type: Mill House Material: log Date: c. 1815 – nearby, due west is:
  422. Hopewell
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1810 – at a greater distance and southwest is:
  423. Hopewell House Ruin
    Type: Foundation Material: stone Date: c. 1800 – on the outside of the bend in CR 27 Bloomery Road, at a distance and on the river are:
  424. Little’s Falls Locks
    Type: Lenticular Lock Material: stone Date: c. 1806 – and nearby and further north is:
  425. Hopewell Mill
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – on the east side of the Shenandoah River, slightly to the left/north are:
  426. South Bend Mills
    Type: Mill Material: site Date: c. 1840 – Charles Brooke 1852 – and, just north of it is:
  427. South Bend Forge
    Type: Forge Material: stone Date: c. 1839 – Charles Brooke 1852 – back on the other, west side of the river, continue north on CR 27 Bloomery Road, go around a second, near-ninety degree bend to the right/north, continue north; at a T-intersection near a hydro-electric plant, turn left/north and continue on CR 27 Bloomery Road; go a short distance, on the near, right side along the river is:
  428. Millville Mills
    Type: Mill Material: site Date: c. 1840 – continue north on CR 27 Bloomery Road; where there is an island in the Shenandoah River, to the left/west side of the road is:
  429. David Snyder Saw Mill
    Type: Saw Mill Material: site Date: c. 1830 – continue north on CR 27 Bloomery Road; due west and immediately south of the Millville Quarry and on the south side of a power line right-of-way are:
  430. Vestal Mill
    Type: Grist Mill Material: site Date: c. 1770 – nearby and southwest is: 

    430a. Vestal Hall
    Type: Farm House Material: site Date: c. 1745 – nearby and a short distance and further southwest is:

    430b. Vestal Kilns
    Type: Lime Kilns Material: stone Date: c. 1800 – This concludes the route of sites on The Mountain and Bloomery Road. This concludes this route. The last route will begin at the northernmost point in the County at Dam No. 4 north of Shepherdstown.

    The last route will begin at the northernmost point in the County at Dam No. 4 north of Shepherdstown and will encompass the Shepherd Grade area, Turner Road, Billmyer Road, CR 45 and side roads from Persimmon Lane on the west, going east to the four-way stop in Shepherdstown (excluding the town proper).  At the four-way stop in Shepherdstown the survey goes north on to Shepherd Grade to include structures on Shepherd Grade and side roads up to the Fruit Hill Road intersection with Shepherd Grade Road.
    Begin at Dam No. 4, the northernmost point in Jefferson County, going south from the Potomac River, the road forks, the right/west fork is Bender Road, the left/east road is CR 5/1 Dam No. 4 Road; go to the right/west, on the left/east side of Bender is:

    Dam No. 4 north of Scrabble Road

  431. Jones Mill Run
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1760 – reverse-route and take the left/east fork – CR 5/1 Dam No. 4 Road – to an intersection with CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road; turn left/east on CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, past Leisure Acres on the left/north side, continue to a ninety-degree bend in CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road to the right/south; just before the turn and close to the road on the left/north side is:
  432. Springwood Tenant House
    Type: Tenant House Material: log Date: c. 1800- and, on a hill in the near distance is: 

    433a. Springwood
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1790 – Henry Shepherd 1852 – after following the bend, continue south on CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, turn right/west at the next lane to:

  433. Lost Drake
    Type: Farm House Material: brick/log/ Date: c. 1830 – Rezin D. Shepherd, Senr. 1852
    – reverse-route to CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, continue south on CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, turn left/east on to CR 7 Terrapin Neck Road; the second structure on the right/south side up a long lane is:
  434. Johnson Cabin
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1850 – Richard Johnson Heirs 1852 –
    continue east to very end of CR 7 Terrapin Neck Road to:
  435. Neck Farm
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1800 – Abraham Shepherd 1852 – reverse-route on CR 7 Terrapin Neck Road to CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, continue south on CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, the next right/west turn, going through an entrance with a gate is  to:
  436. Wild Goose
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: 1842 – Rezin D. Shepherd, Senr. 1852 –
    Reverse-route and turn right/south on CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, continue a short distance to Vidalia Lane on the left/east side  which leads to:
  437. Boidestone’s Place
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1830 – Rezin D. Shepherd, Senr. 1852, Rezin D. Shepherd Heirs, Senr. 1862 – to the left/north is a tenant house dated circa 1905; in the near distance to the north is: 

    438a. Boidestone’s Place Kiln
    Type: Lime Kiln Material: stone Date: c. 1840 – along the Potomac River to the northeast is:

    438b. Shepherd Still House Dock
    Type: Dock Material: site Date: c. 1835 –and overlooking the river is:

  438. Toole – Van Sant
    Type: Farm House Material: log/frame Date: c. 1835 – John J. Van Sant 1852
    – continuing on CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, continue past Chandler Drive on the left/east side, on the right/west side of CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade is a lane to:
  439. Maple Tree Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1830 – Henry Shepherd 1852 – continue south a short distance on CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, past Steamboat Run subdivision, make an immediate next left/east turn on to Amnesty Way, continue to the end to:
  440. William Chapline House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1810 – James A. Chapline Heirs 1862 – reverse-route on Amnesty Way to CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road, turn left/south, at the next public road intersection, turn right/west on to CR 5 Scrabble Road, go a short distance, bear to the right/north past a farm lane to the left/south, continue past Deerfield Drive on the left/west side of CR 5 Scrabble Road, continue past Hackberry West on the left/west side of CR 5 Scrabble Road, continue past a structure on the right/north side of the road, continue to the next long lane on the right/north side to:
  441. Limeroc
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1860 – Henry Shepherd 1862 –continue on CR 5 Scrabble Road; before reaching the westward turn-off to Scrabble, turn left/south on to CR 14 Turner Road; the sixth turn on the left/east side just before CR 14 Turner Road goes over Rockymarsh Run is to:
  442. William Small House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1850 – William Small 1852, William Small 1862 – continue south on CR 14 Turner Road, cross Rockymarsh Run twice over a short distance as it meanders, the second structure after the second run crossing on the right/west side is:
  443. Williams Cabin
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1840 – John Williamson Heirs 1852 – continue south on CR 14 Turner Road go a short distance, beyond and due east from a lane on the left/east side of on CR 14 Turner Road is:
  444. Williamson-Mason House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: 1782 – Charles Huyett 1862
    – continue on CR 14 Turner Road to a T-intersection with CR 12/1 Swan Pond Road; on the north side of  CR 12/1 Swan Pond Road and east of CR 14 Turner Road is:
  445. Billmyer House
    Type: Mill House Material: brick/frame Date: c. 1850 – Solomon Billmyer 1852
    – turn right/west on to CR 12/1 Swan Pond Road, immediately, to the left/west is:
  446. Millbrook
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1790 – Solomon Billmyer 1852 – continue west a short distance on CR 12/1 Swan Pond Road, on the right/north side is:
  447. Billmyer Mill
    Type: Mill Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – Solomon Billmyer 1852 – reverse-route on CR 12/1 Swan Pond Road, continue east, follow the road on a long bend to the south to a merging, double lane to two houses on the right/west side of the road; (CR 12/1 Swan Pond Road is now redirected south), the lane of the two on the left/south goes to the:
  448. Old Walper Place
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1835 – Martin Miller 1862 –
    (CR 12/1 Swan Pond Road becomes CR 12/1 Billmyer Mill Road), continue south, turn at the second lane on the left-hand side, the lane splits in two, the left/northern lane goes to:
  449. Jacob Fulk House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1860 – Jacob Fulk 1852 – reverse-route on the lane to the fork, turn left onto the other fork, continue to:
  450. Tabler Farm
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1820 – George Fulk’s Heirs 1862
    reverse-route on the lane, turn left on to CR 12/1 Billmyer Mill Road, continue south a distance to the intersection of CR 12/1 Billmyer Mill Road and CR 12 Old Martinsburg Pike; to the left/east of Billmyer Road and on the north side of Old Martinsburg Road, facing Old Martinsburg Pike is:
  451. Keplinger Cabin
    Type: Farm House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – Jacob Keplinger 1852 – turn right/west on Old Martinsburg Pike until it reaches CR 45, turn right/west on to CR 45; just before the CR 45/Persimmon Lane intersection on right-hand/north side of CR 45 is:
  452. Rock Springs (Billmyer-McQuilken House)
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1831 – William T. McQuilkin 1852
    –  reverse-route on CR 45, go east towards Shepherdstown, just before the 7/11 Store, turn right/south on to Sandpiper Lane, continue south past the Galilean Church on the right/west side, continue to a ninety-degree bend in the lane to the left/east; on the outside of the bend, just after it, is:
  453. Sandpiper/Sunnyside House
    Type: Farm House Material: frame Date: c. 1840  – Willoughby Lemen 1862 – reverse-route to CR 45, turn right/east, continue through a stoplight, at the next stoplight on CR 45, on the right /south side of CR 45 is:
  454. Welshans-Russell House
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date:c. 1815 – John Byers 1852 – continue east on CR 45 to four-way stop in Shepherdstown, intersection with Route 480, turn left/north, continue through intersection with West Campus, at the fork in the road, turn left/west on to CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade Road; continue north on CR 5/2 Shepherd Grade starting at Bavarian Inn, go short distance, on the right/east side is:
  455. Belle Vue
    Type: Farm House Material: stone/brick Date: c. 1800 – nearby is: 

    456a. Belle Vue Cabin
    Type: House Material: log Date: c. 1830 – Mrs. Julia Van Swearingen 1862 – continue north, past Willowdale subdivision on the left/west side, past Cress Creek at the same time on the right/east side; after Willowdale on the left/west side, turn left/west on to Fruit Hill Road, continue until the road forks, go right/north on the fork to:

  456. Windward
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: 1842 – James Marshall’s Heirs 1862 –
    return to fork in Fruit Hill Road, take a right turn on to other fork to:
  457. Fruit Hill Stone House
    Type: Farm House Material: stone Date: c. 1780 – Mrs. Anna K. Robinson 1852 –
    nearby is: 

    458a. Fruit Hill
    Type: Farm House Material: brick Date: c. 1840 – Mrs. Anna K. Robinson 1852
    This ends the route.